Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Episode reviews, Guardians of Space
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/22/2011 7:47 PM Title: The Mighty Blue Hawk (#11 The Mysterious Red Impulse)

Just like BotP, this episode cuts the scene where the goons shoot the pilots.

Just no communications between the relevant people, no matter what version you watch.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/29/2011 7:06 PM Title: 4) The Giant Centipoid (#4 Revenge of the Iron Beast Mechadegon)

And, for some reason, they removed the mecha's first attack, on the oil refinery.

This was the version that was supposed to be truer to Gatch? (At least until Gatch came along.)

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/07/2011 8:09 PM Title: 4) The Giant Centipoid (#4 Revenge of the Iron Beast Mechadegon)

No matter what the incarnation, I always wonder what happened to the girl. (Although, in the original, I can imagine that Mom was still around, just not mentioned. Japanese women were supposed to be good little hausfraus, not assertive butt-kickers.)

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2010 3:04 AM Title: 83) Web of Danger ( Gatch #84 Smog Fiber, Spiderweb Iron Beast)

The Japanese don't have the same concept of demons or devils as Westerners do. But the renegade's name in the Japanese original is pronounced 'Demon.'

(Here are some genuine surnames I've seen over the years: Spector, Worlock, Hell, Demonteiro. Yep, I'm pretty sure that, somewhere out there, is someone with just 'Demon' as a surname.)

Hm, so G-Force is not Brighthead's pet project? It's an IS unit? Fic possibilities are definitely there.

Two defectors in Gatch: Demon and the young scientist Mikhail. Both of them repented of their misdeeds in the end. Both of them had been motivated by disappointments meted out by life.

Author's Response:

I remember reading about the difference between the eastern and western concepts of demon, researching it after watching a few rounds after "Yu Yu Hakusho". I thought about putting a note in this about that, but forgot.

I agree on the fic possibilities. Although I find the IS project angle more of a shock now that I know about the Gatch version of the storyline. And Dr. Brighthead did at least raise Ace; that's covered in eps 52&53, the Van Allen plan eps. I suspect the doctor raised Dirk, too, since Ace and Dirk are obviously very close friends (which the dialogue supports), but that's not specified in canon.

Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2010 6:48 PM Title: The Robot Stegosaur (#1. Gatchaman vs. Turtle King)

Pilot episodes have the problem of not only introducing the characters, setting, and other elements of a series, but also telling a decent story. And that's for shows set in a reasonable facsimile of the world outside our door, never mind SF or fantasy.

Gatch has a narrator, so during the team's docking, we're simply introduced to the team members.

Ken also figures out that the mecha IS the base. I still have trouble figuring out the whole 'enter the mecha' idea, myself. I suppose it was so they could introduce the Tornado Fighter and Firebird.

You noticed that Ace and Dirk don't look especially unhappy that they have to fight. It's still a great adventure for them.

Author's Response:

Technically this was the 'introduction' episode for the viewers. The actual pilots (the look-at-all-the-cool-stuff-we-can-do-with-this show) were 18) The Whale Submarine (Pilot Episode #1) (Gatch #18 Revenge! The Whale Operation) and 85) Galactor's Deadly Trap (Pilot Episode #2) (Gatch #87 Patogiller, the Triple United Iron Beast).

But I do see your point. Like I said in the summary, "A lot of firsts." Basically this was to introduce everyone and show almost everything they could do. It's kind of amazing that they managed to get a good story out of it! ;p

Thanks for reviewing! 

Candi

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2010 6:22 PM Title: The Blast at the Bottom of the Sea (Gatch #2 The Evil Ghostly Aircraft Carrier)

Looks as if the Turner folks were as wimpy about death and injury as the Sandy Frank people.

Author's Response:

While not as uptight as when BotP was produced, censorship and self-censorship in America (and elsewhere) was and can be pretty strict. Have you ever seen the show "Teen Titans Go"? That was a fairly recent show, but they referred to one of the main villains as 'Slade' instead of his regular bad guy alias of 'DeathStroke' because it might be bad for the kiddies. But 'Justice League' got away with the bad guy 'DeadPool'. Go figure.

Some people seem to pay more attention to what they think might be bad for the kids instead of researching what actually is bad. Twits.

Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2010 6:50 AM Title: Shock Waves (BotP: The Duplicate President)

The bad guy is revealed because he used his cane on the CORRECT side. That's what makes me wonder about the scriptwriters for the original. (I know this from experience: I broke my left heel. When I was finally able to walk with a cane, I was told to use it on my right side. Believe it or not, this works.)

Author's Response:

Oh, sheesh. I did NOT know that.

So in the film, the one shown to G-Force before they left base, when President Altan uses the cane on his left side, he's using it on the wrong side? *smacks head into wall* And the Hawk Leader is being intelligent in using the cane on the appropriate side. Where's my chocolate?

I guess Altan wasn't one to listen to medical advice. I'm assuming (yes I KNOW about 'assuming') :P that centuries of trial and error have taught doctors and other medical persoannel the best side to keep a cane on with leg injuries.

My family does have two friends who regularly use canes. But in both cases, their conditions mean they use them for support and balance, and they both switch their canes from hand to hand.

Thank you so much for your review! :) :)

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2009 7:47 PM Title: The Sun-Bird (Bomb mech ep)

Over at Gatchamania, the speculation is that the makers of Gatchaman were tossing in these little bits to hint at Berg Katse's dual identity. In the days before widespread VCRs, all anyone would have gotten was a flash of the purple-and-red jumpsuit and gold hair. When the PDOS appeared in the next second, they would think they'd seen his purple-and-red costume.

Janet Waldo now does work for Focus on the Family. Think about that, next time you hear Susan. (And yes, I think I'll say that in my reviews when 'she' finally appears.)

The astronomy in BotP is on a level with the astronomy in 1950s SF. (If you want a taste, Mill Creek Entertainment has a collection of old SF television shows, and two or three movie serials -- one of which has rather unfortunate costuming for the hero.)

In Gatch, Ali's father is D-E-A-D. That's his skeleton under the floor (and, for some reason, it didn't stink up the place while decomposing).

And they changed something important from 'Gatch': G1 telling Ali about how he wants to see his own missing father. And we all know who's standing right there, hearing every word....

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2009 7:19 PM Title: The Cuttlefish mech pt. 2 (In The Tentacles' Grip)

The PDOS does seem rather dim for someone with the brain capacity of two people. (BTW, 140 is rated as very bright, but not genius. Not something to sneeze at.)

There is also that 'Yeti' episode to suggest telepathic powers for Leader X. Somehow, it knows that PDOS is about to be captured, and intervenes.

Fic possibility: Anderson/Brighthead reveals that 2 of his team are missing. Think maybe word of that got back to psycho blonde? An agent in the room, or perhaps someone spilled the beans to a 'trusted aide' who was actually an agent? (Nowadays, we could suspect a fool feeding information to a news reporter who also works for the bad guys.)

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2009 6:55 PM Title: The Cuttlefish Mech pt 1 (The Giant Squid)

S-9/Mala: The Sandy Frank production order puts this episode before 'Galaxy Girls.' Somewhere along the way, someone must have realized the weird blonde appears in other episodes, hence naming her. Mala reappears in 'Rage of the Robotoids.' (And we all know that, in Gatch, the weird blonde is Berg Katse's female form.)

In animation rules of the time, not only could no-one be directly threatened with a weapon, but there could be no or few references to death and dying. (And yet, several episodes of BotP do have people dying, and references to death.) They might have been that squeamish about injuries, or they might have felt that kids would get the wrong message about helping injured people.

I believe the little kid running around yelling about Galactor is supposed to provoke a reaction from the undercover team members. Aggie and PeeWee (and Jun and Jinpei, originally) fall for it, so that watching goons can report back to their handler.

(Amazingly, in the original Gatch episode, nobody seems to have a microphone hookup in the dungeon. Jinpei pretty much reveals that he and Jun are Science Ninja Team as he bitches out Ken and raises a fuss.)

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/24/2009 9:55 AM Title: The Sinister STAR-ONE (Galaxy Girls/Traveling Train ep.)

Perceptive comments.

I made the mistake of buying the 'Best of G-Force' DVD. I watched it again just for the torture. Apparently, rather than have a consistent narrator, the Turner folks decided to use the various characters. Which, in this case, puts Brighthead's character in a bad light. (And, this travesty has made me hesitate to have anything to do with Anime Network -- even if I could afford it.)

I think 'cyborg' was a cop-out, much like 'robot' on BOTP.

That dinner date line is one I remember from when I first saw the episode. One of the few times that Anderson was even hinted to have a life outside G-Force. (If a guy that good-looking asked me to dinner, I'd accept. No, I know what I look like in a mirror. Hmm....)

Reviewer: TransmuteJun Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/26/2008 9:43 PM Title: The Sun-Bird (Bomb mech ep)

ROTFL! I'm far from an expert on GoS, but I enjoyed the way you compared that ep to the BOTP ep. And the MSTing was fanstic! I love your commentary on the obvious gaffes anf plot holes. Your sense of humor is well appreciated!

Now I'll have to look at your other episode reviews... *grin*



Author's Response:

Thanks, TransmuteJun! I won't be doing that many BotP/GoS comparisons, between Zark and Nancy/ghostowl posting her own BotP reviews, but I plan eventually getting reviews posted of all the 81 GoS I do have. I want them to be detailed cause it's so hard to get even a handful of those eps on tape or disc. :-)

It's 81, not 85, cause I'm missing the horse mech ep, the Praying Mantis (NOT a grasshopper!) ep, and two others.)

The commentary is a written version of what I'm thinking and...umm...talking at the screen while the eps are running. :-p It just fits my style. My kids prefer me to hit the pause button when I do that. :-D

Candi

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.