Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Making BOTP out of Gatch
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: jublke Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/08/2013 9:36 PM Title: The End of an Era

I agree - this is how the series should have ended! What an incredible challenge you took on here and it all fit together beautifully. Fantastic!

Reviewer: jublke Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/08/2013 12:16 AM Title: A Planet in Peril

Another fantastic adaptation! 

Reviewer: jublke Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 09/07/2013 9:12 PM Title: Truth and Treachery

Great story but you left us with a cliff-hanger ... I always enjoy stories that come up with an explanation for Jason's health problems. :)

Reviewer: jublke Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/07/2013 8:28 PM Title: Dreams of Deception

You've done an amazing job here, LB. I am impressed. I could even hear the BotP music in my head as I was reading this ...

Reviewer: gatchamarie Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/22/2011 3:18 PM Title: The End of an Era

I wish to join all the others in complimenting you for coming up with such a believable happy ending, showing the way things should have been, and for giving us the pleasure of seeing Mark and Princess together, and Mark and Jason as brothers!  In Gatchaman I've always seen Ken and Joe as brothers, even if they weren't related, and I was so glad to find this aspect even here, in your BotP version!  The way you've crafted this ending, using different screencaps from different episodes and adapting them to this purpose was most ingenious!  Thanks a lot for a lovely read and very well done!

Author's Response: Thanks!  It was my plan, with this whole series, not to kill anyone -least of all Jason.  But I needed a storyline that would match with Joe's angst and shock about his illness, and his running away to Karakoram, and having Jason learn about his real mother and where he's really from seemed to fit the bill.  But once I'd established who his mother was, I needed a father for him too and there was one particularly convenient candidate...

Reviewer: Springie Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2011 9:00 PM Title: The End of an Era

Oh, I love this fic! The perfect happy ending! And...like TJ mentioned...the Mark/ Princess romance scene made my heart pitter-patter with joy! Also, the pics you've included throughout made it seem like I was watching the episode! Awesome work on this!

Author's Response: I suppose, technically, I should have ended with a Zark scene -every episode did- but there wasn't time and that wouldn't have been so "happy"! ;-)  But if there'd been a way to work in a second, final Mark/Princess scene, I'd have done it.  I'd a vague notion of having Jason tell Mark, at the end, that he'd heard from Tyna and that she was on Aquatica too, with her parents, for the peace negotiations, and that she wanted to see Jason again!  LOL  After all, Tyna used to work for Mala, and might have recalled that she had forgiven her for trying to run away, pointing out that Zoltar would never have forgiven her.  But there wasn't a way to work it in...

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2011 8:29 PM Title: The End of an Era

Your AU ending has been so fulfilling. As TJ said, this is how the series should have ended. You were so creative to weave this all together the way you have.

I would live to see another peice describing Jason, Mark, Cronus and Mala's evolving relationship. 



Author's Response: Thanks!  Another piece?  I hadn't even thought of that...  Ideas may yet come to me for a continuation piece, though, of course, there wouldn't be readily usable screencaps for it.  I don't think Mala and Cronus ever shared a scene.

Reviewer: TransmuteJun Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2011 9:52 AM Title: The End of an Era

Wow! You have done such a fantastic job on all of these episodes and to end it all like this... this is the ending the series should have had: what it truly deserved. 

The resolution of Jason's parentage, and Mark accepting Jason as a brother is something that truly fits into the show, and how the canon characters interact. And the ending on 'Aquatica' inthe mini-sub is the perfect way to wrap up all of the heartache.

And how can i neglect to mention Mark and Princess finally admitting their feelings for each other? Exactly what all of we fans have been waiting for, for thirty years...

Bravo! (Where's the clapping smilie?)



Author's Response: Thanks!  But, heh, sure you don't want an "eye roll" smilie? Doing a "He's not dying -he's just temporarily paralyzed. He'll be fine as soon as it wears off!" thing, I feel rather like Zark at his very worst! LOL  Maybe in some parallel universe the BOTP writers were given some or all of the final Gatch episodes -I would love to know what they would have come up with for storyline(s)...  Actually, I wish Gatch ep 105 had been longer (and that applies to both series) as more resolution could have been supplied here, if only time allowed.

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/18/2010 8:20 PM Title: Truth and Treachery

Another fantastic job. Mala is Jason's mother? That's frightening!  

Author's Response: Thanks!  Yes, I think she's far from anyone's idea of a good mother, but it was the image of young Joe seeing his dead parents at the beachside table in eps 31 and 78 that got me thinking that his mother, with her face not seen, could be BOTP's Mala...  Things went from there.

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/18/2010 8:13 PM Title: Dreams of Deception

LB, I was always afraid of what would happen if Sandy Frank decided to do these episodes. I can't stand the idea of Jason going through exactly what Joe did.

I enjoyed reading this. You've done a wonderful job adapting it to BotP.



Author's Response: Thanks! I agree!  I did try to find a different crisis for Jason, one angsty but less... terminal.

Reviewer: TransmuteJun Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/17/2010 10:49 AM Title: A Planet in Peril

Plot weirdness? Naaaah.... just a compelling story that BOTP would have been darn lucky to call its own! The only 'crime' here is the continuity, which would have been a killer for a syndicated show.

That being said, I can feel Jason's pain (which is considerable, given the nature of the show) and his desperate hope. I am crossing my fingers that he gets to meet up with one of his parents, somehow... Tatsunoko amination restrictions aside.  I'm eagerly waiting for the next installment!



Author's Response: Thanks!  What seemed trickiest was coming up with dramatic plot developments to match all the angsty facial expressions -without anyone dying, of course.  ;-)

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/12/2010 7:12 PM Title: Truth and Treachery

LB, I love what you are doing with these.  And I love how you have Zark  finish with that reassuring comment - nothing can go wrong in BOTP!  ;)

Author's Response:

Thanks, it is fun trying to devise a different storyline for familiar footage.  And, heh, I had to use Zark -I think nearly every BOTP episode begins and ends with him and when you start cutting out the most violent scenes and altering the storyline it soon becomes apparent how much his role was needed to fill up time or provide exposition, though I suppose I'm making him less all-knowing than he is in canon.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/09/2010 7:53 PM Title: Truth and Treachery

Well, I don't think BotP would have touched the 'Jason as hybrid' with a ten-foot pole, but it's an interesting reinterpretation of the episodes.

(In Chapter 2, you accidentally used 'Katse'.)

Author's Response:

Yeah, I agree.  They probably would have somehow made the episode a stand-alone one and gone with Jason finding out he was sick (or maybe even dying) -only to have Zark explain at the end that the doctor had made a mistake or that Zark himself had devised a miracle cure- but it was fun to try to think up something very different from the Gatch storyline.

Thanks, for spotting the "Katse"!  Usually, it's Nambu/Anderson where I slip up.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/04/2010 5:36 PM Title: Dreams of Deception

I extended the challenge here on Gatchfanfic, also. So you can alter this to say 'yes' to 'Challenges.'

I still say you picked hard one -- but if you do the last 3 episodes, you will have your work cut out for you.

Author's Response:

Yeah, with all the violence that would have to be cut out, I'm thinking I might try to turn the three Gatch episodes into a two-parter BOTP episode.

 I listed this as a response to your challenge here.

Reviewer: Green Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/04/2010 6:45 AM Title: Dreams of Deception

Wow, that was really amazing, LB. You had me hooked from the word go. So many questions, intriguing answers, you have just left me drooling for more!

Author's Response: Thanks!  Seeing the Red Impulse team member, Masaki, presented as Colonel Cronus in "Awesome Ray Force" first made me realize, I think, just what one might get away with when converting Gatch to BOTP.

Reviewer: Candi Gomez Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/03/2010 5:53 PM Title: Dreams of Deception

*snort* GoS cut the scene with G-4, the knife, and the chambermaid.

This is very very impressive work.

Now: is Mala related to Jason? Does she off the Rat doctor before he can talk? And just how long can Chief Anderson keep blocking Jason's memories with the implant?

What Battle of the Planets could have been.

More to come, I'm sure....

Good work!



Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it.  Yes, I want to do another part; really, I feel I have to, as I've left so many unanswered questions.

Reviewer: TransmuteJun Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/03/2010 8:38 AM Title: Dreams of Deception

I disagree with the previous review... LB didn't pick the hard ones, but the *good* ones.

LB, you've done a wonderful job tying this into BOTP canon and weaving in a intriguing storyline. If only Sandy Frank's writers has been as good at deep plots... but then, they had continuity restrictions.



Author's Response: Well, I did consider episode 50, the Trachodon episode, but I really couldn't think of a way to BOTP-ize Keyop waving around a bloody knife, freshly pulled from a dead man's back, before a terrified hotel chambermaid ("Broot doot... shallow wound... he'll be okay," -I don't think so!) -nor could I bear to cut that scene.  Yes, the BOTP writers, working fast and not knowing what Gatchaman episodes they'd receive next, and having to write episodes that could be distributed and aired in any order, certainly faced more restrictions.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/03/2010 2:24 AM Title: Dreams of Deception

Ooh, you picked the hard ones.

I'd always figured that if the Sandy Frank folks had gotten this one (after 'Galaxy Girls') that they would either show Mala disguised as Zoltar, or make up some reason why Zoltar never wanted his face shown. On the other hand, this was the 1970s, so they might not want to have admitted that guys could have hair that long (Rick Wakeman be damned).

Author's Response: Well, episode 66, the roller skating one, would have been easier!  Here, the main things were coming up with a reason why Jason would be going to see a doctor instead of going on the mission (hence the added footage from episode 78 and the references to Jason's physical and behavioral issues in previous episodes), an explanation for unmasked Zoltar's... not exactly masculine appearance, and something for them all to be talking about in the dialogue-heavy scenes on the Spectran ship.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.