Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Raven
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dragonlady1971 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 04/06/2016 10:30 AM Title: Never Too Late

Very well done - you have melded a lot of pieces into this story and it has worked out beautifully.

Reviewer: Pip Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2012 4:12 PM Title: Never Too Late

Oh, no! I can't believe this is the end! What a wonderful finale though. The action scene was INTENSE! Now, I want to see how Ken manages with life in G-Town ^___^ Ken angst! Some of the best stuff there is!!

Author's Response: Hehehe ... I've started the next Raven story, so it's not quite the end :)

Reviewer: Pip Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/22/2012 1:25 PM Title: Animal I Have Become

I... I... Words fail me. This was outstanding! I was so involved in the story, that I found myself dragging out the box of kleenex here at the end. It is so totally, 'Condor'. Absolutely awesome! Now I've got to run off and find your next story!

Author's Response: Aw shucks, thanks :)

Reviewer: Pip Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/21/2012 3:40 PM Title: Growing Pains

This was wonderful! I love the glimpse into their early years. Extremely well done! I'm going to go look up more of your stories!

Author's Response: Awesome, thanks! :)

Reviewer: cathrl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/14/2012 7:21 AM Title: Animal I Have Become

Oh.

My.

God.

That was absolutely fantastic.

I will now go have a howl.



Author's Response: LOL thanks so much :)

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/08/2012 6:03 PM Title: Never Too Late

Sorry. Forgot to rate it.

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/08/2012 6:02 PM Title: Never Too Late

This has been a great story, Chris. Ravn did become a distinct characters of his own. I coudn't decide if I was coming to like him or not. Ken coming to the forefront for a while shows he's still viable. I hope there's more to this story.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, I'm working on the next part. :)

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/29/2012 8:21 PM Title: Never Too Late

Oh wow!Chris this is so ... wow, I just can't find the words.  I am completely blown away. 

The emotions, and interaction between Joe and Ken and Joe and the Raven are very moving. I love the way you are able to write these emotions with so few words and yet make me really feel them.  I keep hoping I am able to do the same.

I am really looking forward to reading about Ken's continued healing and perhaps a joining of the fragments of Ken and Raven.   

Sorry I keep deleting because I keep forgetting to rate the stories I coment on.



Author's Response: Aw shucks. Glad you liked it!

Reviewer: KT1972 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/29/2012 10:04 AM Title: Never Too Late

Well it was certainly worth waiting for, and you didn't disappoint..... Roll on the next part! :D

Author's Response: Yay glad you liked it. :) And I've already started the next part, heh.

Reviewer: Daniella T Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/29/2012 6:18 AM Title: Never Too Late

Perhaps as a beta I should't review -- I don't the etiquette for this situation -- but, hey, I liked it, and wanted to let you know! The interaction between the Condor and the Raven is complex, subtle, emotional, and, at times (for me at least), even moving.

Author's Response: I won't complain about a review. :) And thanks! That would make a good title: "The Condor and the Raven"

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 1:46 PM Title: Growing Pains

Chris, you hit each of the kids right on the nail.

I'm getting the impression Nambu had an affair with Joe's father?



Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, when Amethyst and I were talking, the idea popped up and just seemed too good not to play with. One explanation for how he convinced Giuseppe to defect with his family. ;)

Reviewer: KT1972 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2012 2:52 AM Title: Growing Pains

Loved it,it certainly helps me understand Ken's hesitence at revealing his true self to the rest of the team. Also perhaps encouraging Ken to be more guarded about who he's really interested in, since it was so obvious to Nambu.

Author's Response: Yeah, I think there'd be no convincing him that he was safe if anyone else saw it, even Nambu.

Reviewer: Daniella T Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2012 6:51 PM Title: Growing Pains

Excellent -- sets up the Raven universe beautifully, and gives an added glimpse at Nambu at the same time!

Author's Response:

Thanks! Amethyst is a great muse. :)

Reviewer: K2p2 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/16/2012 12:39 PM Title: Life Starts Now

Enjoyed your interpretation of the episode...this is the one that sticks most in my mind...Looking forward to reading the rest of it.

 



Author's Response: Thanks :)

Reviewer: jublke Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/07/2012 3:24 PM Title: Life Starts Now

Chris, your new ending works a lot better.  This doesn't feel unfinished anymore, although it sure makes me feel sorry for Ken!

Author's Response: Thanks! Poor Ken, I'm not very nice to him ...

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2012 6:05 PM Title: Life Starts Now

This works, Chris. Poor Ken. He's got a lot of self-loathing.

Author's Response:

(Warning, I'm apparently in a rambling mood. Or it could be the major lack of sleep!)

Ken's always seemed to me to absorb every perceived fault that could get a teammate hurt or killed, using that to drive himself more and more toward perfection, which is good for his job ... but he forgets to be a human being with needs too (not to mention getting a bit carried away at times). Adding on a fear of losing his best friend because of feelings that he can't seem to change, and letting that push him into not telling Jun what she needs to hear to move on, just isolates him even further. I think it'd drive him into emotional trouble even faster than it hits him in canon. So that's what I'm playing with. Plus, the fallout from the Jigokillers/Fierce Flowers seems, to me, to be glossed over a bit in canon. No one takes Ken/Mark aside to discuss his attempt to kill himself? (Or just gives an order to keep an eye on him so he doesn't try again.) He flat out announces his attentions on his bracelet. There was no doubt of what he was trying to do. Anyway, glad my brain finally coughed this last bit up. :) I'd decided it was finished because I seemed to have run out of story, but was always glaring at it like I knew something was missing. :)

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/23/2012 7:20 PM Title: Animal I Have Become

Chris, it took me a while to read all this but it was well worth it. What a fitting ending. Since you said there's more, I'll be looking forward to it.

Author's Response: Thanks! I very much like your work, so I appreciate your comments. :) Might get the next version out as early as sometime next week, we'll see! Depends on how fast the 2nd beta comments come in. 

Reviewer: KT1972 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2012 3:43 PM Title: Animal I Have Become

This was a surreal transformation, from who he was to what he became. I wouldn't normally believe it, but you made it seem so plausable.....

Can hardly wait for the next installment!

Author's Response: Thanks! Plausibility is definitely the challenge there, glad to hear it worked. :)

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2012 12:23 PM Title: Animal I Have Become

I think I see where this is going, Chris, but I won't ruin it for others.

Poor Ken. His life is changed forever.



Author's Response: Indeed, He ain't a happy camper ...(also avoiding spoilers :)

Reviewer: Daniella T Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/08/2012 5:15 PM Title: Animal I Have Become

Read this in one go, and it was one of the most moving fics I've read! I'm looking forward to the next installment, wondering, like everyone else, who will be in it...

Author's Response: Thanks! I got some good kicks in the rear from my lovely betas, which always helps. :) Arguing with the next installment right now. Making changes before 2nd round of beta.

Reviewer: FireEagle Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/08/2012 3:44 PM Title: Animal I Have Become

I liked the first story and this one was even better. I liked how the condor matured as a leader and the poor eagle tortured isn't even the word for it. Loved the end that the two supposedly go out together. Can't imagine how a third or fourth story would go but you did leave a few loop holes. Good work can't wait for the next installment.

Author's Response: Thanks! It amuses me to point out there's a sequel, as the natural question is "with who?" :)

Reviewer: ElectricWhite Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/06/2012 8:44 PM Title: Animal I Have Become

Good Lord, you've done it! This piece was compelling and enthralling, and the way the Condor and the tortured Eagle faced the end moved me to tears. I can't help wondering how on earth you're going to end the trilogy.

Author's Response: Aw thanks :) The next story is in beta ... this being me, the series is probably going to end up in 4 parts rather than 3, the next story is just as long as this one, but doesn't really conclude the arc so I'll need at least one more. Writing "short" is not my specialty. *grin*

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/05/2012 6:51 PM Title: Animal I Have Become

This is huge, Chris. It's going to take me a while to get through it, but so far I love it!

Author's Response:

Thanks! The sequel is another monster. :)

Reviewer: jublke Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2012 7:46 PM Title: Life Starts Now

I really enjoy your writing style and I thought your characterizations were well achieved.  However, I did think that, after the revelation in the beginning of the story, we'd see some sort of resolution or change in understanding - growth maybe? - in terms of Joe and Ken.  Even something as simple as Joe realizing that something is different about Ken by the end of the story would have been helpful, but they all seem to be as clueless to the underlying tension of the story at the end as they were at the beginning.  Put another way - either move the big reveal about Ken to the end of the story or have an even more compelling, exciting reveal at the end to top the first.  Does that make sense?  Your writing is exquisite, but the construction of the plot fell a bit short for me.  Looking forward to more!

Author's Response:

Aw thank you very much. :) Really I think what I have here is one long novel, that I'm posting in 4 or so parts as a series. I do think you have good points, I could have had Joe be a bit concerned about Ken, will definitely keep that in mind if I decide to go back and make some changes!

Doing a final edit on story #2 now. 

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2012 6:29 PM Title: Life Starts Now

Chris, I thought for sure Ken was going to blurt his love out to Joe at some point. I'm assuming there's more to this thread to come. I enjoyed your interpretation.

Author's Response: Thanks! It happens rather early in the next installment. :)

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.