Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Fall and Rise of the Condor
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ebonyswanne Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/19/2017 1:55 AM Title: Camille

I feel sorry for Jason in all of this. Its so hard to have a relationship, but I understand her fathers reaction.

So close Condor... so close. I tend to like him paired with someone outside of the team, he has scope for it. I liked your original character Camille. I could see him with her. 

Reviewer: WrenOne Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/28/2015 7:15 PM Title: Caldera Madre

I would love to see you finish this story.

I enjoy all of your work; but as a substance abuse counselor I have a particular interest in this one.

you are spot on in your description of alcoholism and early recovery.

 



Author's Response: Thanks, WrenOne. I'm glad it reads authentically. I dove in really deep with this story - that scene with Mark on the floor of his kitchen was absolutely gut-wrenching to write. I am fortunate that I have not directly experienced alcoholism myself, but I am, unfortunately, very well versed in its effects. It was cathartic for me to write from the perspective of the alcoholic. I'd like to pick this story up again and add a few more chapters, but I told most of the tale that I wanted to tell. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing - it means a lot.

Reviewer: Mona Lisa Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/26/2015 5:21 PM Title: Caldera Madre

A tough and touching story told brilliantly, it really shines in its uniqueness. I look forward to more when you're ready to share.

Author's Response: Thanks, Mona Lisa. I think of all of my fanfiction, this one has been the most gut-wrenching to write. I hope to get back to it sometime.

Reviewer: Cricket Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/03/2014 11:39 AM Title: Twice Over

Oh dear. I wonder if this is going to cause problems.

Reviewer: Chris White Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2013 1:04 AM Title: Twice Over

Why do I imagine Jason waking up in a sweat, shrieking, and going "oh god that was awful ... the Chief HUGGING me?" :)

Author's Response: LOL! Well, this story is all your fault you know. :P You made that comment while betaing Caldera Madre - I wonder what else the Chief isn't telling Mark - and that just stuck in my head and rattled around until this popped up. If it helps any, I suspect it was a very brief, stiff, awkward little huglet. Not even a real gushy hug at all. ;)

Reviewer: Kuroi Okami Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2013 12:29 PM Title: Twice Over

Ok, so I'm not the only one! I have enjoyed all your stories!

Author's Response: Hi Kuroi! Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment. I'm glad you like my stories. :)

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2013 11:38 AM Title: Twice Over

Julie, I loved this in Bird Scramble and like you and others, often thought of the relationship between the Chief and Jason being more than just canon. I can't wait to see how you incorporate this into your AU.

Author's Response: Hi Becky. Glad you liked it! I'm not sure where this one is headed, but I suspect a heart-to-heart between Jason and Mark has to happen at some point. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: KT1972 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2013 3:58 AM Title: Twice Over

This was short but sweet, Jublke, I'm so glad it worked out well for them both!

Author's Response: Thanks, KT! I'm still trying to picture Mark's shock when Jason tells him ...

Reviewer: Lyssa Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2013 12:47 AM Title: Twice Over

This must have been a challenge for Jason. I've not read your other stories so it stands very well on it's own. It also makes me want to go and find out about Mark's parentage.

Author's Response: Hi Lyssa - Thanks for the review. If you're interested in my take on Mark's parentage, try Caldera Madre. I'm not quite finished with it, but I'm getting there.

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/15/2013 4:10 PM Title: Caldera Madre

I see that the Chief DID know/suspect about Mark's drinking.  That was certainly one way to call Mark on it. 

Knowing Mark is so on edge, in some ways I am surprised to see Mark did not take Anderson's ruse the wrong way and blow up at him.  Their relationship must be strong enough though since Mark knows he can reach out to the Chief for support when the others are not available.

A loose end I would like to see cleaned up, and maybe this is one you know you need to deal with, is Mark's relationship with Princess.  He admitted way back at the beginning that he loved her, but he is not willing to reach out to her for support.  I know this time his excuse was Keyop, but I am sure if he really wanted to Mark could have found a way around it.



Author's Response: Yep, that's the big one I'm aware of too, CD. I've got to give some thought to how both of them see their relationship now, after so much has happened. Thanks again for reading & reviewing! :)

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/14/2013 1:46 PM Title: Caldera Madre

This is a great chapter.  I really like the intensity I feel during the battle.

I hope everyone is okay, and that the reason Mark did not get a response was because the others were too busy or communication was down for them to answer.



Author's Response:

Hi CD - Glad you liked it! Battle scenes are very hard for me to write, so I'm glad it rang true for you. I only have one more edited chapter left to post - and then I will have to wait for the muse to strike. I know of two threads that I would like to sew up - if there's anything you think the story needs to address before I finish it, please let me know. The only thread I am sure I won't fully wrap up here is the state of Jason's health - I have another fic in the works which will hopefully, finally, land him back on his feet. I think. ;)

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/13/2013 8:06 AM Title: Caldera Madre

I love that Mark's friends are there to support him.  But then that is to be expected. 

I was surprised by Tiny's story/admission, but like that he has a connection to Mark's situation.  So often Tiny is forgotten in storylines as they focus on the main three characters.

I hope Mark doesn't feel the need to push himself to hard, and perhaps relapse, now that he has realized that Jason re-injured himself because of all this.



Author's Response: I have to be honest here - I'm not sure of Mark's prognosis because I'm not done writing the story!  :) I have a couple more chapters to put up, and then I'm going to have to sit back and think about which loose ends haven't been tied up and see if my muse gives me a nudge. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/12/2013 9:37 PM Title: Caldera Madre

It is nice to see Mark and Anderson finally starting to open up to each other.  And that Mark is beginning to feel comfortable enough to relax.

Author's Response: I think Mark has kept a lot of emotion in check for years. Letting it out must have been terrifying, but gratifying as well. Hope you like the next chapter! I think I'll go post it now ...

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/12/2013 10:56 AM Title: Caldera Madre

That was explosive!  From all of them, but highly expected when tone keeps their emotions locked away.  And now Mark has admitted his problem to Anderson, at least part of it.  He still needs to  admit to the drinking.

I thought this was why Jason was taking Mark to talk to Anderson.  I am surprised Jason is letting Mark escape without telling.  Or maybe he realizes the drinking will stop once the bigger problem has been solved.



Author's Response: I suspect that if Mark steps off of the straight and narrow now, Jason will go straight to Anderson. But Anderson might have other ways of finding out ...

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2013 7:41 AM Title: Caldera Madre

I love the way Jason is supporting Mark, even as he is making Mark see how much he is hurting himself and the others.

 In my AU, I too find Jason is good at this emotionally strong supportive role for Mark.



Author's Response: At this point in my AU, I've put these two characters through a lot. I like to think that Jason would step up emotionally if Mark ever lost his footing. Glad you are still enjoying the story! I've still got a couple more chapters queued up, then I'm going to have to wait for the muse to strike me.

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/10/2013 6:21 PM Title: Caldera Madre

Now someone else knows about the drinking hopefully they can help Mark .... or get some help for Mark.

And now I understand a little more what Mark is going through.  After being under stress for so long, being the primary team, now that they have "down time" he can't handle it.  It does make me wonder how the others are dealing with it though.  But then perhaps Mark would have it worse since he was in command/control and now he isn't and it is slipping.



Author's Response: I think that Mark's world is shifting under him here -- his command role is changing at the same time his understanding of his parents is changing. Mark strikes me as someone who is strong under most all circumstances -- but his foundation has taken a serious hit here and I think he's reeling from the 1-2 blow.

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/09/2013 10:37 AM Title: Caldera Madre

At least Jason seems to be there to help him.  And I am glad Mark still has some sense to listen to Jason, instead of taking offence.

I am really enjoying this and would love it if you could keep this posting rate going.  It is nice to be able to read a chapter a day and not have to review the previous chapters to remember the little intricacies of the story



Author's Response: Hi CD: I'm glad that you are enjoying this! It was emotionally wrenching to write parts of it and it's taken a while for me to look at it even close to objectively. It reads SO much better now that my fantastic beta team had a crack at it. :) I'm happy to report that I have a few more chapters beta'ed & in the queue, so I will try to keep adding them over the next week or so. I am going out of town tomorrow for a few days, though, so I may not be able to keep up this pace. And I should warn you, this story is still unfinished. :/

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/09/2013 8:30 AM Title: Caldera Madre

Wow, Mark has really lost control hasn't he!

Author's Response: I think Mark is so in control most of the time that if he lost it, he would lose it in a big way. When I was working on this part, I asked my husband how he thought things might unfold (he's not a Gatch fan, but he's absorbed a lot over the years). He suspected that, under extreme stress, Mark would be the consummate professional at work, but would lose it in private. I agreed, and that's what prompted this scene. Thanks for reading! More to follow ...

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2013 8:57 PM Title: Caldera Madre

Is someone trying to break Mark's resolve?  Or Anderson's?

Looking forward to reading the next chapter.



Author's Response: I think the expectations and emotional stresses put on our "five incredible young people" and their mentor must be phenomenal. I hope you enjoy the next chapter - it's a doozy!

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2013 8:49 PM Title: Caldera Madre

Poor Mark, that must be a very hard secret to keep.  I am surprised no one else has a clue.

Author's Response: He won't be able to keep it for long ... Yes, things are going to get worse for Mark before they get better. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: Springie Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/30/2013 1:36 AM Title: Recovery

What a great angsty drama! I loved the way you dealt with the hierarchy as new problems developed. You showed each team member's strengths as they depended on each other. Darien was a good addition, too...it was interesting to see the way he interacted with the team. Of course, I always enjoy the little romantic bits, too! ;-)

Reviewer: Shunhades Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2013 2:26 PM Title: Caldera Madre

Update soon!

Author's Response: Hi Shunhades - I'm working on it, but it's been slow going so far. Thanks for the encouragement.  :)

Reviewer: Cricket Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/06/2012 3:36 PM Title: Caldera Madre

Great interaction between all the characters. I can see why Mark identifies with the rest of the team as far as not having a mother.

Author's Response: Thanks! It's interesting to see how the team reacts to me bending poor Mark into a pretzel ...

Reviewer: Daniella T Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2012 12:03 AM Title: Caldera Madre

With all the attention on Mark's father, it's very interesting to see a story about his mother! Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Thanks, Daniella! It's been a fun and interesting challenge to write.

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2012 4:53 PM Title: Caldera Madre

Julie, I am really enjoying this story and am looking forward to reading more. 

Poor Mark seems to have had a very hard childhood.



Author's Response: Thanks, Cloud!  Yes, I think this is a facet to Mark's history that he would have rather kept buried.  I'm curious myself to see how he pulls it all back together ...

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.