Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Episode Reviews
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: kittenmommy Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/17/2014 5:18 PM Title: Attack of the Alien Wasp

Loved this review!

 I don't know if you're interested in a fic that shows Zark in a sympathetic light, but Barrdwing's fic "In A Small Room" really gave me a whole new perspective on Zark.  Give it a try (yes, it's here on this archive)! :D

  

Reviewer: kittenmommy Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/17/2014 3:10 PM Title: Ace From Outer Space

I just watched this ep on YouTube the other day, and your review was spot-on as always.  I also wondered why Mark dumped the whip in the ocean... I mean, shoudln't he have brought it back to Anderson for study?

 Maybe Princess thinks Zark is a genius because she's comparing him to *Mark*! ;) 



Author's Response: Thanks for your review :)  I never thought of the Zark vs Mark brainpower face-off before. Kind of scary...

Reviewer: kittenmommy Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/04/2014 4:23 AM Title: A Swarm of Robot Ants

Antoff!  OMG, LOL!  I'd love to know what the people behind this stuff were smoking, you know?

Author's Response: I think I mentioned Quaaludes at some point. There may have been other substances in the cookies they had at morning tea. Thanks for reviewing :)

Reviewer: kittenmommy Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/02/2014 6:54 AM Title: Rage of the Robotoids

Wow.  That's some Zarking!  Great review!

Author's Response: Yep. We've been Zarked and we're going to stay Zarked. Thanks for reviewing :)

Reviewer: kittenmommy Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/01/2014 7:53 PM Title: Magnetic Attraction

Love this revuew, LOL!

Author's Response: Thanks, Kittenmommy. It was one of the funnier eps. Just to compound matters, they are now selling an all-in-one blender on tv shopping called a "Ninja." I think of the bowling ball whenever I see it. Thanks for taking the time to review the review.

Reviewer: ElectricWhite Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2011 6:57 PM Title: Space Rocket Escort

It's very tempting to go on about how this episode was almost as stupidly stupid as stupid could get. . .but then I'd forget to mention a thought that I had while reading this: "getting Zarked" needs to be included in the Oxford English Dictionary!

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/15/2011 11:12 PM Title: Island of Fear

Oh, dear. On re-reading, BDSM got to me. In the US, at least, those initials refer to -- erm -- creative sex acts involving restraints and role play.

The Gatch plot had Jinpei (G-4) building a fake Crescent Coral base as a trap for Galactor forces. (This amused Ryu, G-5.) The bad guys would attack, and their mecha would be tinted with a red dye that Crescent Coral's sensors could track. Hopefully, they'd be able to find Galactor's main base.

Most of the plan went off without a hitch. Berg Katse rationalized that the fake base was so obviously fake that it had to be the real thing. His mechas were given a nifty new paint job. The Science Ninja Team followed the signals to several locations and opened up several cans of whup-ass.

(Not sure why the BotP people went with such a convoluted plot. It could not have been the original plotline. The intended audience watched Bugs Bunny and Tweety Bird pull tricks on their foes all the time.)

Author's Response: It is testament to my overwhelmingly vanilla mindset that the penny didn't drop for me until you pointed it out. Perhaps I need to read more fan fiction... At least now I can say I've written something with BDSM in it. Gosh. All I need now are vampires. Take that, Ann Rice!

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/22/2011 7:28 PM Title: Space Rocket Escort

Even in the Gatch original, the team gets stupid when the red guy is around. Ken has issues.

Author's Response: True. I sometimes think the team is stupid so that Cronus can be around. This whole episode was Idiot Ball as a team sport.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2011 4:10 PM Title: Rage of the Robotoids

In the original, the young woman was shot by the PDOS when she failed to eliminate the heroes.

(She wanted to leave the bad guys, and had been promised that she could. Silly thing should have known better.)

Like 'Rescue of the Astronauts', we were told that characters who plainly didn't make it out of the building were rescued by G-Force.

At least it looked as if Tyna was merely injured, and the sudden shift to the team outside could allow that dodge. It was only the lack of her in the 'stand around and watch the base explode' scene that told us otherwise. (Surprised nobody thought to add in her silhouette. They could have done it easily enough.) In 'Rescue', there was no sign of the astronauts after Mark surrendered. A strange oversight, if viewers were paying attention. And once we knew it was edited from an original...

Author's Response: Thanks, Candi. No surprises that people died in the original. Thanks for your review.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/28/2011 11:32 PM Title: Attack of the Alien Wasp

The producers of BotP received the Gatch episodes seriously out of sequence. They never knew what they would receive in the mail.

Because of this, not only this episode, but [i]Raid of the Red Scorpion[/i] precede [i]The Sky is Falling[/i]. Changes the focus of the series, and the emotional impact of the episodes.

And the scriptwriters didn't have a whole lot of time to work. Which means it's a minor miracle the show is as good as it is.

Now, if they could have just refrained from creating Susan, and toned down Zark a bit....

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/20/2010 7:44 PM Title: Raid of the Space Octopus

In the original episode, G2 is peeved because he knows that the team needs more weapons. It's about 70 episodes in, and their Bird Missiles aren't doing so well.

Then they get their tail-feathers handed to them.

G2's brain injury doesn't really play up until near the end of the show.

(G3's protective nacelle usually pops off once she hits the ground, too fast to really see.)

Author's Response: It's good to know that Jason wasn't dying of Joe's puppy-related shrapnel injury at the time. I still say he was just grumpy from sitting up too late watching motor sport on TV. Thanks for reviewing :)

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/08/2010 4:01 AM Title: Raid on Riga

American English as an oxymoron: I work as a security guard. Did you know that it's possible to chew up your own name so much that it sounds completely different? I meet those people? (Then there are the ones who literally can't remember how to pronounce a friend's last name.)

The scriptwriters were churning those things out fast. Several episodes a month. All 85 were made in about six months. No wonder there were lapses and discontinuities.

Captain Fabulous: I call him 'Captain Match-flame' in the review I just finished writing. He reminded me of some goofy mascot for charcoal briquettes or matches.

Reviewer: Candi Gomez Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2010 1:35 AM Title: The Awesome Ray Force

When G-4's saying goodbye to G-2 before leaving the track: Same footage, right? Keyop gets: "Poor Jason." Pewee got: "Hey Dirk, if you catch it from Dr. Brighthead we're still friends, right?" before bouncing off. Same footage. Poor Keyop.

It took G-2 about a minute to finish that race. Driving like he's prone to do (and assuming there's enough fuel in the tank), he would have hit the base very close behind the other team members if he hadn't been attacked. And where was Zark? Another ten-second oil break during a crisis?

Dirk gets to beat up Snakeheads before he gets zapped. Poor Jason, censored out of any fun. >:( (The Snakehead label comes from Transmute Jun's 'On the Run' series. Credit where credit is due.) :)

One thing I never, ever got was that the Purple Villian, in GoS as well as BotP, attacked the underground city before the 'test' on G-2. Was he that confident or that impatient and egotistical?

Sending in a special team to make sure the area is clear before S & R go in is not necessarily a bad idea. BUT the S & R teams are supposed to be waiting as close by as is reasonable (don't want the helpers hurt before anything starts), so they can respond once the area is cleared. I don't see a sign of them.

And what idiot thought up scanners that block communications when they're being used? For my sanity, I'll just assume the team put in the scanners before Jason got his tale out. Esp. since he spent time arguing instead of reporting. Take a cue from Dirk, fella; when given your chance to talk, shove aside the temper and report!

Rover could capture Zoltar; he'd be laughing too hard to resist. And maybe Zoltar has to have a certain amount of Evil Villian Laughter a week in lieu of a refresher course in Comparitive Megalomania. He should take the class.

You know... Spectra attacked the city in the first place. Shouldn't the team have been a little more careful, esp. when opening doors? At least Mark's target hid its malice well until the last minute. And on that subject, why didn't the scriptwriters just say that Cronus was looking for the other G-Force members and/or survivors? Would it have been that hard? Then again, Rat Bas- I mean Cronus might have needed massive plastic surgery after The Sky is Falling.

"Push the ray force into the ultrasynch range." Wha?! I like GoS solution better; if the ray is used too much, it overheats and explodes. Either way, make the tempermental Purple Villian use it. A lot. Without getting hit. Sad how easy that is to do.

Is there a regulation Amount of Gloating Time a villian must use? Wasting time gloating ruins so many plans by allowing things like, say, a missing member or two to arrive?

G-1 is NOT the same build as his dad. Even without a height indicator, you'd think Zoltar would clue in before the grand unveiling. That said, why didn't Mark just show up in birdstyle? It's not like Zoltar thought Cronus was dead.

*grumble* The censors/edits/scriptwriters ruined a lovely ending, with G-1 finally coming to terms with the loss of his father.  Healing grief wasn't a good lesson for the kiddies? And Zark made things worse. Or is that a given?

Chocolate, lots of chocolate... Here's some superdark chocolate for you. And some jasmine tea.

Thanks for dealing with Zark so we don't have to. And warm fuzzies to all your feather faces.



Author's Response: Have you ever considered doing reviews of G-Force: Guardians of Space? I reckon you could do a really good job of it. And, yes, it is a given that Zark will make things worse. Generally be existing in an offensive manner. Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Candi Gomez Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/04/2010 12:57 PM Title: A Swarm of Robot Ants

One thing I've never gotten over is the way the buck teeth wiggle when the guy in the ant suit is talking... (Yes, in GoS it's the PDOS.)

Still, this is a great ep, even if the how-to-defeat mechanism is rather 'out there'.

And thanks for the nose-cola warning. You weren't the only one on the floor! :D

Good work!

And here's some super-dark chocolate to conter the Zarkiness... And here's some frozen rodents for the featherfaces.



Author's Response: I think the buck teeth are meant to be mandibles, and, yeah, it's very silly. Especially the sun noises. I wonder what drugs you have to take for the sun to make noises? Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Candi Gomez Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2010 6:06 AM Title: Rockets Out Of Control

"They ejected in time and Mr. Important's just injured." PUh-lease!! Did the scriptwriters/censors really think kids were/are that stupid. Sheesh!

The idiot-censor business aside, this was pretty darn impressive.

This one never made it into Guardians of Space. If it had the fate of the astronauts probably would have been left open-ended, like (all shows called by Gatch titles) the astronauts in The Monstrous Aircraft Carrier Appears, the king in Speed Race from He!!, and the elderly gunman in The Evil White Sea. Open-ended simply means that everyone with a brain knows these people are D-E-A-D, but GoS never actually says it. At least the scriptwriters aren't insulting our intelligence nearly as often with 'everyone's fine'. Tho they do do that in The Mysterious Red Sand and Burn, Desert Fires. *Rolls Eyes*

Good work! And thanks so much for reviewing Botp eps so we don't have to deal with Zark! :)

Here's some chocolate, another Zark punching bag... let's see... and here's some interdimensional burglars for your feather faces!



Author's Response: I think the scriptwriters were probably under the thumb from the censors, who obviously thought we were that stupid. Kids are a lot smarter than that, and it's something I'm constantly reminded of when working with them.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2010 8:02 AM Title: Spectra Space Spider

My one source for BotP's gone wonky, so I can't watch this. Sounds like it could join 'Raid of the Red Scorpion' in the "What this show could have been" line-up.

Author's Response: Well, damn. It's a shame you can't watch BotP. This was one of the better eps, idiot ball and all.

Reviewer: cyscoe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/20/2009 9:22 AM Title: Rockets Out Of Control

A great job as always.  You always see and catch a few things that I don't.  And your commentary is delightful!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, cyscoe. Not sure how Zark is going to top the concept of Norwegian Blue Astronauts but I get the feeling he'll try.

Reviewer: WyldKat Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/16/2009 1:37 PM Title: Rockets Out Of Control

Good job, as always. <chuckle>  Gave me a nice respite in an otherwise crappy day.   I didn't see this one till I was in my 30's so I don't have any fuzzy childhood memories to shread.  <eg>

Shades of The Sky is Falling and episode #2:  Everyone is okay, kids.  They all got out fine.  Nice observation on the survivability of an exploding space craft.  Yeah, in 79 we *might* have believed it.  2009?  No way.  Seen the real version. :-(



Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it, Kat. Now if only I could hurry up and finish beta reading your latest story so you can post it! Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2009 9:48 PM Title: A Swarm of Robot Ants

Technobabble. Gotta love it. Both SF and skiffy run on it.

I had a saliva-spray moment over Antoff. I have a lot of those when I read your reviews. Stupid name, and then the costume! Ant head, trunk hose, and Elizabethan collar. Gotta give him credit for even appearing in public dressed that way.

I think one reason people still like this show after all these years is the animation (the real stuff, not the tacked-on crud). Compared to the television shows produced in America at the time, it was mind-blowing. I don't recall very many American-made animated series with pans, zooms, characters and vehicles moving background to foreground (or vice versa), and other cinematic tricks more common to live-action television or movies. There were also those little bits that the animators liked to throw in, even though those must have taken a lot of extra time: those wonderful facial expressions, hairs trailing over foreheads, goon 'wardrobe malfunctions', and so on.

I recall most American animation consisting of action moving across the screen, right to left, or left to right. If characters did move in any other direction, they tended to leave or enter the shot. No extra little bits, not much variation in facial expression, and very little nuance.

Author's Response: Oh, I agree. BotP was a vast improvement on such offerings as 'Scooby Doo' and such like, wasn't it? Ground breaking stuff for its time. All the same... 'Antoff?!' Hahahaha- ow. Thanks for reviewing.

Author's Response: Oh, I agree. BotP was a vast improvement on such offerings as 'Scooby Doo' and such like, wasn't it? Ground breaking stuff for its time. All the same... 'Antoff?!' Hahahaha- ow. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2009 8:32 PM Title: The Awesome Ray Force

And we never, EVER, get to see that 15-layer, well-armed, cake. :-(

Author's Response: And I don't have a recipe for one, either. Dag-nammit.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2009 7:35 PM Title: Island of Fear

There's tweaking a plot, and rewriting it. These guys managed to completely mess it up.

Eyeball roll.

Author's Response:

Maybe in the future the Pacific Rim will be so unstable that Plot Adjustable Geography will become a reality. And if you're going to roll your eyeballs make sure you pick them up and clean them afteward.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/14/2009 7:24 PM Title: The Space Serpent

"Hm, she's been reviewing 'Battle of the Planets' episodes again," Charlie said, forgetting that Tony was new to the neighborhood.

"How can you tell? And what's 'Battle of the Planets'?"

Charlie silently pointed to the mound of used tea leaves and packets, which dwarfed the house. "Hope she still has that deal with the compost folks...."

Heheheheh.

Author's Response:

LOL! In an unrelated twist, that house has since been demolished but not by the tea-leaf compost monster. Thanks for your review of the review.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/13/2009 11:03 PM Title: Raid of the Space Octopus

The many sins of BOTP are foreshadowed in 1950s 'science fiction' television series. It's nothing new. Regrettably.

Author's Response:

Such is skiffy... as opposed to Science Fiction. Good science fiction (and skiffy) is actually about people against the backdrop of the whizzbang and the "oooooooh, er!" In that sense, BotP succeeds, which is probably why it still has so many fans even after all this time. Thanks for taking the time to review the review.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/13/2009 10:04 PM Title: Rockets Out Of Control

I meant no offense. I'm new to this site. I didn't see a recent review from Ms. O'Malley, so I thought she was inactive (or taking a well-deserved break). Sorry.

It was a good review.

Author's Response: No worries. Ayako started the whole 'review' thing with the Gatchaman Production Diaries and others have picked up the torch over the years. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/13/2009 6:16 PM Title: Rockets Out Of Control

MsAnnO'Malley has a successor!

Author's Response:

I'd thank you for the review, but I hardly think I'm a successor to Ms O'Malley. I've been doing this for years, quite independently. And I'd only be a successor if she stopped reviewing.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.