Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For On the Run
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Chris White Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2012 5:12 PM Title: Out of the Ashes

That's what a good beta is for :)

Reviewer: Chris White Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2012 5:11 PM Title: Remorse

Oh I agree, it's unrealistic that at least one of them didn't die. And Tiny was just determined to survive I guess!

Reviewer: Chris White Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2012 1:44 AM Title: Out of the Ashes

Very enjoyable. :) I like the space left open for Keyop, it was a nice touch. And I like how you looped in that distraction to Mark's freedom. 

Author's Response: My original beta readers are to thank for Keyop's space. They suggested that I had written Keyop off, but that no one had truly stopped to remember him. It was that comment that led to Keyop having his 'reserved space' at the wedding.

Reviewer: Chris White Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2012 12:59 AM Title: Remorse

Aw Keyop, we knew ye ... and I like how you worked through the survivor guilt, that's totally believable. Mark's probably going "hey, I don't remember being tortured, so that's a good side effect." :) I picture him asking to see the video though.

Only one more in the series to go, noooooo :) 



Author's Response:

Well, someone had to die... if the entire team had survived, them the 'danger' they had been under would have seemed ridiculous, in retrospect. Originally I had planned on having Tiny die as well, but then his storyline just opened itself up to me... 

And trust me, Mark will remember his torture... 

Reviewer: Chris White Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2012 12:05 AM Title: Exit Strategy

Hah it's not a success until you land and aren't arrested and shipped to Spectra as prisoners. :) Good stuff!

Author's Response: You know, I never even thought of that... when I wrote this my mind was already on the next fic... 

Reviewer: Chris White Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2012 11:23 PM Title: Memories

Very much liking this series. Wondering what Zoltar did to Mark to totally wipe his memory, and just how pissed he'll be when he finally gets it back. :)

Author's Response: You'll find out, but it will take a couple more fics...

Reviewer: Chris White Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2012 10:21 PM Title: Fugitive

As with all of yours, I'm enjoying how this is playing out. Waiting with baited breath to see if any other members of the team survived ...

Author's Response: Ah, that is the question, isn't it? ;-)

Reviewer: Daniella T Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/20/2011 3:58 PM Title: Exit Strategy

I just discovered the "On the Run" series now, and just finished "Exit Strategy". What can I say...one of the BEST stories ever! Well done as always, TJ!

Author's Response: I suppose if you're digging through my fics, this one isn't bad... it's certainly the fic(s) I'm most proud of. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: vaniahepskins Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2010 4:09 PM Title: Out of the Ashes

Awwww! I have been reading this series in two days and i love it! Thanks so much for such wonderful adventure! =)

Author's Response: Two days, huh? That shows some devotion! *grin*.  I'm glad you enjoyed my view of the 'future'. 

Reviewer: fan4life Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2010 6:34 PM Title: Out of the Ashes

awesome story!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Candi Gomez Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/01/2010 8:09 PM Title: On the Run

Finished the series.

Oh. 

Wow.

This...is just incredible. Amazing, and incredibly realistic.

Keyop dead? *cries* Poor kid. :( Better than I was expecting on the survival rate, though.

THAT'S PRINCESS!?! Wow, when that command 3210 is something else!

Scott has a thing for cars? Hmmmm, I wonder...*reads* Yup.

I thought Mark/Luc was having memory problems because a building dropped on him. And I still don't think it helped. It does, however, make sense that, since the cerebonics make such mental control possible, that there would be some way to use them to stop the implantee from letting lose important information. It's also interesting how Mark feels his memories start to slip away as he's led to be questioned by Zoltar. He apparently puts it down to six months of h- no, that's too nice a word. And woo-hoo for him standing up to Anderson!

I know that you don't say so, but it wouldn't surprise me if if the whole team each has their own command 4566 -just in case.

I feel sorry for Sakuma. "Oh we don't need you, Anderson's foster kids showed up." And we won't tell you they're original G-Force, even though you've obviously cleared for such information since you were invited to be on the new G-Force team. And we didn't think you were important enough to actually leave a message for, but waited for you to show up at the clinic! GOOD GRIEF!! Anderson does NOT know how to handle these things! That said, there are better ways to file a grievance than electrocuting or blowing up a rival.

Anderson is too cautious.

I like Andi. :) I hope Jason finally gets his romantic happy ending. That bit about her being Mark's second cousin actually fits, too.

The business with the Spectrans and the Terran women -I was in junior high in 1993, the year of Bosnia, Serbia, and the rest. The school library wanted some magazine articles on the events over there put in its database. No scanners. No net hookup. They offered extra credit to the (Mac) computer students. Once they were done their classwork. the kids could get extra credit by typing these articles into the databases. I did three and part of a fourth before I decided that I couldn't handle these reports of 'man's inhumanity to man' anymore. But the Spectrans -their rape and imprenate campaign reminds me terribly of those events. Those creeps deserved everything G-Force handed out.

Interesting to note, tho, that it seemed to be mostly the lowest rung soldiers doing the public assaults. This suggests two possiblilities: The higher Spectran hiearchy have a lower occurence of the faulty gene, or they just prefer more privacy. Or both. And I gotta wonder: Did the Luminous One encourage the spread of this gene in the population to keep them dependent?

When mention of a genetic defect that prevents proper functioning of the body came up, I though of cystic fibrosis, which has a similar cause and result, and also needs drugs to treat.

Mark and Princess get married, both in a nice little private ceremony that they obviously wanted and the way that their and their foster father's position practically demanded. Nice.

My hat off to you, my deepest bow, and my longest and loudest applause. You have proven, once again, what a skilled writer and creative artist can do. Please, Keep It Up! :)



Author's Response:

Okay, that's the longest review I've ever had, but it's for 5 fics, so I guess it's okay. ;-)

I had originally intended a higher death rate for the Team (Tiny was supposed to die) but the story took me to another place. And I'm glad I got you with Princess. It was difficult making it a surprise but also revealing it slowly.

You were supposed to feel sorry for Sakuma... or at least understand his actions. He provided an important plot device though: he made the Team come together, without letting Spectra know of their existence. And yeah, Anderson messed a lot of stuff up. It's pretty clear in canon that he didn't deal well with the Don Wade situation, and he never seems to really feel for the Team as *people*, IYKWIM.

Jason and Andie get their romantic ending. ;-)

The purpose of the assaults was to make Earth's population dependent on Spectra, so that the Federation would surrender without a fight. Obviously they were planning on a little more lead time, though. And no, most of the Spectran higherups don't have the gene. They don't want to be dependent on a drug, after all. You never know when that might be a problem. I was thinking a bit of the Jem Hadar in Star Trek DS9 more than something like cystic fibrosis, but it fits within the same mold.idea.

And of course Mark and Princess get it all at the end! Don't they deserve it, after all that? *grin* 

I'm glad that you enjoyed this, and complimented more than you know that you spent such a long time writing this review. Thank you! 

Reviewer: cyscoe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/29/2008 4:54 PM Title: Out of the Ashes

Amazing.  Once again, you've woven a fantastic tale worthy of being read over and over again.

Reviewer: lborgia88 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/23/2008 11:48 AM Title: Out of the Ashes

What!  No Jason/Andie smut?  Kidding... ;)

This final fic really made me see how much the series was about Mark's journey, in his mind, as you showed how as he regained his confidence, stood up to Anderson, and cemented his relatonship with Princess, his memories (good and bad) ceased to be repressed.  In some ways, what he really had to overcome was... his former self.  A very satisfying conclusion to an amazing, epic series!

 

Reviewer: Nephedra Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/23/2008 8:47 AM Title: Out of the Ashes

Well done TJ! I really liked this whole series. You capture each character's spirit and let them grow. This was a great after series story. There were a few parts where maybe you jumped a bit too far forward - or at least it seemed like you filled in less detail than you did in most of the work. For example, the battle to regain earth, and how Mark and Princess took out the rest of the ship to ultimately capture big bad purple are two off the top of my head. Of course this could be me not wanting the series to end!

Not that it is needed in this fic, but Mark is sure gonna have some issues to deal with now that he is remembering all that happened to him at he hands of Spectra. I get the feeling that what he has recalled so far is only the beginning.

Once again, well done! I think this may be one of my favorites!

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/22/2008 8:48 PM Title: Out of the Ashes

Bravo, Jun! A great ending to a great series!

Author's Response: The strange thing is that I had two endings... and I couldn't decide which one I liked better. So I used both. ;-)

Reviewer: Nephedra Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/19/2008 12:10 AM Title: Out of the Ashes

Usually I try to reserve comments for the end, but I was laughing so hard I couldn't stop myself.

"integrated a resonant fuornical configuration into its chemical makeup"

huh? wth? Take that you Star Trek science writters!(jabs with a shuriken)

Author's Response: LOL! Well, I had to some up with some reason they couldn't just make it themselves... out came the sci-fi dribble! And yes, I made up the word 'furonical' myself, so that no one could dispute that it would do whatever I said it would. *grin*

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/18/2008 3:31 PM Title: Out of the Ashes

Oops! Not done yet. :-)

Reviewer: gogirl212 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/18/2008 12:34 AM Title: Out of the Ashes

Awwww ... this is soooo sweet. I love it :-)

Author's Response: It's sweet and sappy again at the very end. ;-)

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2008 3:50 PM Title: Out of the Ashes

Actually, I'm sorry to see this series complete. We know Mark and Princess are together, abd Tiny has his new love.  What about Jason?

Author's Response: It's not *quite* over... there's a little more yet to go.

Reviewer: veritas Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/09/2008 5:55 AM Title: Memories

 Totally  had me!  I was all,  oh shes never been on a bike before and now shes just roaring off with an injured pillion passenger.... (light bulb moment)  hang on ...

 



Author's Response: Glad to know I got you! That was exactly the point where I was hoping that the reader would do a double take... *grin*

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2008 8:54 PM Title: Out of the Ashes

This is great so far again, Jun. I was expecting Mark to be surprised when Jason said he was Spectran or Andie to react in some way. And Jason's not happy about Mark allowing the Federation fighters to take out the second ship. Mutiny, anyone?

Author's Response: Well, Mark might have been surprised, but he was distracted by information baout his own past. And mutiny... naww. Just natural 'growing pains' as they start to work as a proper team agian. ;-)  Hope you are enjoyig the rest!

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2008 4:28 PM Title: Remorse

Fantastic! So, how are they going to kick Zoltar's butt?

Author's Response: That would be the plot of the final fic... ;-)

Reviewer: cyscoe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2008 2:26 PM Title: Remorse

What a way to end this.    I checked each any every day for the next installment.  As they arrived, I was never disappointed.  THANK YOU for sharing.

Now Tiny can sleep peacefully...



Author's Response: Yes, Tiny deserves a break, and at least he has someone to share it with! I hope you will be just as satisfied with the last fic.

Reviewer: lborgia88 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2008 11:53 AM Title: Remorse

Another skillful blend of suspense and drama!  Once again, mysteries explained and new info to savour, yet mysteries still remain, especially about Mark.  You also depicted Tiny so well too, with his own story of dealing with loss and guilt.  I love how the details come together in unexpected ways, like finding out how the prison housing Mark was damaged in the first fic, or realizing what Zoltar was talking about when he mentions a mecha destroyed at Moffet Airfield in the third fic...Now I'm dying here to find out what's going on with Mark, and how they're going to end the Spectran's occupation of Earth!

Author's Response: I had been hoping that people might pick up on those things! I wrote the background story first and had it all laid out in my head as to what was happening when, before I ever wrote the first words of Fugitive. There aren't *too* many mysteries left, and it has to all wrap up in the next fic, but it will tie up the background story as well.

Reviewer: gogirl212 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2008 1:19 AM Title: Remorse

I am so reved up for some major butt-kicking now! 

This entire series has been one exciting and interesting reveal after another.  And poor, tender-hearted Tiny.  I love him even more after this story.



Author's Response: Major butt-kicking? Well, it wouldn't just be right to leave Earth in the hands of the Spectrans, now owuld it? ;-)

You must login (register) to review.