Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Battle of the Planets Episode Reviews
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Kamen Rider Skyrider Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2013 12:13 PM Title: Episode Review: 'Microfilm Mystery'

This inspired part of the story I put up, thank you!

Reviewer: Dei Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2013 5:39 PM Title: Rescue of the Astronauts

Hi UW,  

Thought I'd take a nibble on some of your questions. :)

Fic Q: No, I don't think the mission was intended to find Spectra bases -- given that they were reportedly abandoned once the Spectrans realised the gig was up, were they expected, the good guys would have gone packing heat.  And probably not in old rockets. ;) 

 

Science questions:  Yes, you can project infrared light, same as any other light... naturally, the losses from the provision of thermal energy to the surrounding water as well as scattering must be accounted for, but it's entirely possible to project it.  

 

Alas, I can't even pretend answer as to why Mark was so short with Princess.  He's Wonderboy -- we wonder about him all the time. :D

Reviewer: Candi Gomez Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2010 8:06 PM Title: Episode Review: 'Museum of Mystery'

Very good and interesting. But you left out one of the "Bizarre" parts.

The finalists in the "contest" consist of four normal girls + one Swan. But after G-3 transforms, there are FIVE girls + 1 Swan! This show clearly right before G-3 appears in birdstyle, (when the Evil Purple Villian is confronting the girls) and again as the girls are being rescued: G-3 takes two via yo-yo, G-2 takes two more via cable gun, which he apparently lowers back down as G-4 takes out one MORE girl and is shown grasping the cable with the gun on the floor.

There's also a fic possibility here: Are the girls told to keep quiet? (An near-impossibility for many normal teenagers.) Are they relocated? If they don't keep quiet, and aren't relocated, can you imagine the 15 minutes of fame they'll get for having met the SNT/G-Force?

Jun takes out a couple muggers? They cut that from GoS! No fair! >:(

The only real differences in GoS is Brighthead, totally spazzing,  specifying that Aggie losing her shoe is Not Good, because of its being so essential to her uniform, and that Galactor possibly getting ahold of it is potentially disasterous. Galactor runs an open-entry beauty pageant (with the top prize including a world-wide TV appearance), Aggie realizes what's going on when she hears the two women talking about a contestant being booted on shoe size (and knows darn well what she's getting into), there being only one pair of shoes per G-Forcer is never specified (implying that maybe they have backups), and Computor has the shoe analyzed on the theory the shoe can tell height, weight, and other factors about the owner. (Not a silly concept). Oh, and the newspaper Brighthead has contains an article about women being booted because of shoe size, which made him suspicious.

Good work!



Author's Response: If you go over to Gatchamania, and look at the episode review for the original ep, you'll find an explanation for the extra girl. I didn't notice when I did the review, because I was a little busy with figuring out what to say. You never know with teenagers: after debriefing, they might realize they would be in danger if they could describe the Swan. They might be able to talk about being captured by Zoltar, but know not to reveal too much else. In the Gatch episode, Jun knows what she's getting into when she enters the contest. After all, she overhears two women talking about feet and the contest only being open to 16-year-old girls. Looks like all three versions stress the importance of the shoe. It makes more sense in Gatchaman that the team members have only one pair of shoes, since Nambu had to invent all their gear. In BotP, it just looks odd.

Reviewer: Candi Gomez Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2010 6:37 PM Title: Episode Review: 'The Ghostly Grasshopper'

I like this. (minus Zark) This is also fascinating because it shows that the good guys aren't alway guareenteed to win when they show up. (An absolute shocker for American 1970's TV.) Even if they do win by the end of the episode.

I wasn't able to record the GoS version when Cartoon Network showed it. (*grumble grumble*) I do remember that they did call it a preying mantis, and that Brighthead overruled everyone in that lab to launch the experimental weather missiles. And chewed out the inventor. Something about caring more about perfect results than the safety of the Earth. What really stuck me is that the thing that tipped the balance was that Brighthead said he'd take full responsibility regardless. (Are the Purple Villians listening?) ;p

Very good work!

Let's see... Here's a big bag of chocolate chip cookies, and a Zark punching bag. ;)



Author's Response: Yeah, cookies help.

Reviewer: Candi Gomez Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2010 3:54 AM Title: Episode Review: 'Attack of the Space Terrapin'

*snicker* Very enjoyable! And well-written!

As for the "giving Vitalumous" question: I've noticed that politicians and others have a dodgy concept of 'giving'. Zark may not have been programmed to recognize the difference between Christmas giving and 'we'll take payment out of your hides for x amount of time' giving.

I won't go into the differences between this and the GoS ep; I've posted a review of "The Robot Stegosaur" aka Turtle King (which is also mysteriously crewed). It just needs to be validated.

Although I will say, for G-3's sake, that the reason Aggie goes on board the 'Stegosaur' is because they're hoping to retrieve the stolen uranium, and she's 'in charge of dangerous substances'. See, BotP writers, is wasn't that hard. >:)

Good work!



Author's Response: Since this is a children's show, we can figure that 'giving' is meant as 'you get it just by asking'. Were I to write a fic, the vitalumis would be one of those things that isn't hedged around with a thousand regulations, tariffs, and other impediments. Reasonably priced, but not so cheaply that recipients don't start looking into other ways to restore soil fertility. (Transmute Jun met Fred Ladd at a con and asked about the name 'Agatha Jun.' Mr Ladd is an older gentleman, and apparently he always thought of 'Agatha' as a sexy name. How times change. She didn't tell me his justification for the other names.)

Reviewer: Candi Gomez Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2010 7:02 PM Title: Episode Review: 'The Silent City'

With a plot like this, I sincerely wonder if the BotP scriptwriters put the Gatch script through a shredder and then picked out pieces at random.

Zark was supposed to appeal to the 'kiddies', right? When I got the Rhino Battle of the Planets DVD collection from the library, my kids got to see Zark. When I asked my son what he thought of Zark, well, there's not enough room for his description. Suffice it to say that he doesn't think much of Zark. My daughter says Zark's 'silly oh my. Which puts him about three levels below bugs. And this girl like to play with bugs.

The GoS ep follow the Gatch ep pretty closely. They do add that an autopilot automatically takes over if the team is knocked out in Firebird mode. (How is this accomplished? They don't say.) G-1 also deduces that the reason there's an unusual amount of fuel left is because Galactor used a tractor beam to bring them directly onto the aircraft carrier. (Apparently we are to assume that the autopilot would follow a preprogrammed and more fuel-consuming route.)

Good work!



Author's Response: The biggest plot hole was having Zoltar impersonate Anderson at Center Neptune. Not easy to explain in a fan fic. No autopilot on the GodPhoenix, and I'd guess that Ryu did somehow manage to land it. Not remembering after that much stress is not surprising. The BotP scriptwriters came in two types: one group had to watch the original episodes (using an apparently so-so translation), write down what happened, and time the dialogue for each character. The other group took that and wrote the script. They needed Zark to fill in the gaps left by editing, and to serve as narrator. Their audience knew about robots. 'Lost in Space', the original 'Outer Limits', and 'Twilight Zone' ran on the local syndicated TV stations, along with 'Creature Features.' I can't remember what I thought of Zark, but I hope I thought the flirting was lame. Now I find it disturbing.

Reviewer: Madilayn Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/23/2010 9:06 AM Title: Episode Review: 'Peril of the Preying Mantis'

It's actually established in the series (the one where Tiny is in prison) that Mark finds it difficult to pilot the Phoenix.  In fact, when it's not Tiny piloting, it's Jason or Princess.

I would't be surprised if Mark couldn't fly it except in the most basic way.  The motor control needed to fly the Phoenix  is very different to that required for a fighter jet.  I would doubt that Tiny could pilot Mark's jet successfully.

It's like the difference between driving a car and a semi trailer.  

Military pilots usually train to fly either a fighter or larger transport and it's rare that they then swop vehicles.

Great review though (as usual!!)

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2010 7:47 PM Title: Episode Review: 'Race Against Disaster'

Great review UW. I agree with your comments. It seemed obvious to me Spectra knows who Jason is at this point.

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/10/2010 11:56 AM Title: Episode Review: 'The Fiery Lava Giant'

This was one of my favorite episodes, but I really couldn't give you a specific reason why. Great review UW!

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2009 4:33 PM Title: Episode Review: 'Attack of the Space Terrapin'

Great review UW!  The two headed remark reminded me this was the pilot. It sounded as though the team didn't know what Spectrans looked like.

Author's Response: Unless they were referring to the latest mecha's appearance. Glad you enjoyed it. I am now off to review 'Seige of the Squids.'

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.