Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Icing on the Cake
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: jublke Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/30/2011 10:37 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is such a fun read.  I laughed my way through the ingredients ... condensed tomato soup?  Loved that you researched fruitcake online to make it more believable.  I especially enjoyed the fact that Jun was able to make her special mark on Granny's fruitcake - and thus, keep her promise - without having to foist it on any of the team and have them suffer through the pain of actually eating it.  Well done!

Author's Response: Well I've never liked fruitcake personally, much less made it, so yes, internet research was definitely required! And I did find recipes with all of those ingredients... although not necessarily in the same cake. ;-)  And of course Jun had to do something other than force everyone to eat it! Otherwise it would be just too cliche... *grin* 

Reviewer: Candi Gomez Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/28/2010 12:19 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is for the whole story...

 LOL!!! ROFLMHO!!! Oh my goodness, I can't breathe...

This is great! :D :)



Author's Response: Glad you liked it... although not *all* of it was intended to be funny. ;-)  But you can thank the Birdscramble recipe theme for this fic. I hadn't intended to write another one. 

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/08/2010 9:43 AM Title: Chapter 1

I know fruitcake only by reputation.

Of course, Jun could stumble on a non-toxic version, and in the best tradition of that sort of story, NEVER BE ABLE TO REPLICATE IT.

Reviewer: lborgia88 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/07/2010 8:51 PM Title: Epilogue

Jun using that much-maligned food, the fruitcake, to solve her problems makes for a very satisfying read while her realizing what problem it can't solve for her makes for a sweet ending!  I hope she, eventually, gets to "have her cake and eat it too."

Author's Response: Don't we all wish that would happen? *romantic sigh*

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/06/2010 9:54 AM Title: Epilogue

Another great story from your  creative mind TJ.  This is a perfect use for a fruit cake recipe!  I love the "romance" and the way you wrapped up the story.



Author's Response: Seeing as fruitcakes aren't truly edible, I agree that any use other than as food is quite useful. And you know me... I'm a sucker for a romantic ending. ;-)

Reviewer: gatchamarie Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/06/2010 9:33 AM Title: Chapter 1

Another great fic, TJ, coming from another brilliant idea of yours!  Starting from your end note ... I'm a bit disappointed that you cannot give me the recipe cause I'm so curious about what ingredients it contains and what is the method to come up with such an explosive end result!  I am certain that I couldn't use such a recipe in a cake to one of my customers, though, if I don't want to end up in jail!  Jokes apart, you surely managed to combine good and diverse ingredients and come out with a delicious recipe yourself!  You managed to mingle hilarity and angst with great mastery.  And I liked the way you gave the Swan the chance to exploit Granny's recipe, as was the latter's wish, even if not in the way it was really expected!  Thanks for another great read, TJ! 

Author's Response: Well Jun is the only one who can know what creates an explosive result... after all, she is the explosives expert! As for your customers, I am certain you would only use such a cake when it was truly warranted... how could the police fault you for that? 

Reviewer: Green Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/06/2010 4:21 AM Title: Epilogue

Oh, I do want the recipe! ;) A sweet poignant read - especially when you consider what they have given up to do what they do. Another great fic, TJ!

Author's Response: LOL... when I wrote this fic I researched fruitcake recipes online and looked for the most bizarre ingredients/steps I could find. i did discover a recipe for a condensed tomato soup fruitcake, and another recipie that called for soaking the fruitcake in about 2 gallons of different alcohols, and a third that called for the daily 'brandy spritzing' for weeks on end. All of these concepts went into 'Granny's' fruitcake recipe... but no, it's not actually written out. If you would care to try... *grin*

Reviewer: UnpublishedWriter Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/06/2010 12:33 AM Title: Epilogue

I have to say it:
Kagaku ninpo fruitcake!

Another wonderful story.

And perhaps Jun can figure out a non-toxic version of the recipe?

Author's Response: Well Granny Nambu's fruitcake is by definition always toxic. The question is merely exactly what effect it would have on the human body if ingested. I am not a fruitcake expert myself (can't stand the stuff) so I doubt I could come up with anything edible on my part, but you're welcome to try... ;-)

You must login (register) to review.