Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Defiance
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dragonlady1971 Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/17/2015 4:02 PM Title: Chapter 5.11

very good story.

Reviewer: Cricket Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/06/2012 3:39 PM Title: Chapter 1: Running on Empty

Re-read the whole thing over the weekend. Very powerful. I'm sorry to see it end, but glad it's over for them.

Reviewer: Bellantara Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2012 8:26 AM Title: Chapter 5.11

Oh, thank God! Was so happy to see an update to this, and even happier to see Jay wake up! Well done, Katharine!

Author's Response: Thank you!  I hope I did okay on that scene.  It was one of the hardest to write.

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2012 3:15 PM Title: Chapter 5.11

OMG! What an ending. Bravo, Katharine! It was long worth the wait.

Author's Response: Oh, gosh...that's very kind of you go say that.  I'm honestly ashamed that I took so long to do this chapter.  Thanks so much!

Reviewer: Chris White Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2012 10:28 PM Title: Chapter 5.11

This ending certainly suits your take on BOTP. :)

I don't have much of a problem with the end of the first Gatch series. Joe's whole first series character arc was driving toward his own destruction, and there was no way for Ken to know if he'd need all of the others with him or not in order to save the world. Joe's not leaving them a message about where he was going so they could at least follow put him in that situation (which honestly I found a bit surprising, I'd think he'd want them to follow).

Another part that made me roll my eyes a little was Jun's selfishness at preventing Ken from climbing in. Certainly I understood the sentiment, but I thought it made her look weak, demanding that the whole world be allowed to die when it could have possibly been saved. I was particularly surprised that Ken did as she wished. Being so duty-minded, I'd have expected otherwise, or for him to decide that he was 100% sure climbing in would accomplish nothing.

The great thing is that the show is complex enough to inspire such debates, dicussions, and AU's! Congrats on finishing up. :) 



Author's Response:

Thanks, Chris.  All true, but what really got my goat was more than those two themes: it was the team taking off without turning over every rock to look for Joe.  I can understand everything else...but THAT...  As for Jun...that scene brings wonder of the same thing at first, but in retrospect it could also be read that it's the moment where she, all of them, had finally given up.  They'd just been forced to leave their gunner to bleed to death; they are seconds from their own with no plausible way to stop the black hole device; and suddenly she's faced with the prospect of watching Ken get himself ground into hamburger.  An ugly end coming just got uglier, so she's dragging him back for one last moment of peace before the lights go out.  Just my impression.  :-)

 

 

Reviewer: Nephedra Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2012 8:50 PM Title: Chapter 1: Running on Empty

wow and wow and Awesome! You still left a cliff hanger darn you! :P But some resolution nonetheless. I like the intensity of the writing, the descriptions and the military universe you set up. Please keep writing these.

Reviewer: Gwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/15/2012 8:43 PM Title: Chapter 5.10

I'm truly enjoying this story. It's professional quality. Thank you.

Reviewer: Cricket Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/06/2011 8:27 PM Title: Chapter 5.10

Nice tight, tense writing. It drew me in again, despite the time since the last installment. Come on, Jay, do something!

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2011 8:44 PM Title: Chapter 1: Running on Empty

I'll say it again - Katharine, you're killing me! I know Jay wants to live.

Thanks for another great insttallment. You're a very talented writer.

Reviewer: cathrl Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2011 6:59 AM Title: Chapter 1: Running on Empty

What can I say other than "aaaargh!!!"?

That was such a good idea... waddaya mean it didn't work? (sob)

Edit: and that was, of course, aimed at chapter 5.10...

Reviewer: Shadowcat Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/27/2011 7:09 PM Title: Chapter 5.10

Yay, you posted a new chapter. THank you, and I love this ...so much.

Reviewer: Bellantara Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/27/2011 12:39 PM Title: Chapter 5.10

Oh man, I squealed and bounced in my chair like a little girl when I saw an update to this!

C'mon Jay! It's not like you to give up; come back to us!

Reviewer: Shadowcat Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2011 10:38 PM Title: Chapter 5.9

Please continue this .....pretty ...pretty please.

Author's Response: I'm working on it, really!

Reviewer: Bellantara Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/27/2010 8:12 PM Title: Chapter 1: Running on Empty

I love, love, love this whole series!  Please come back and finish it; it's killing me to have Jay hanging like he is!

Reviewer: Nephedra Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/12/2010 10:53 PM Title: Chapter 1: Running on Empty

hhmmm perhaps some light at the end of the tunnel. Love this story, but truly the suspense is killing me. :D

Well done as usual.

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2010 7:51 PM Title: Chapter 5.9

I love all of your technical writing. It makes everything so real

But Katherine, I can't take any more cliff hangers!!!! I hope there's more to come.

Reviewer: psyk2 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/03/2010 6:44 PM Title: Chapter 5.9

Yeah!!!!! More of my favorite story. Love how tings are coming along.

Reviewer: Shadowcat Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/09/2009 10:24 AM Title: Chapter 5.8

This really is one of my favorite series, I can't wait for the next update ...though I do know that it will be a while.

Reviewer: Shadowcat Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2009 6:37 AM Title: Chapter 5.8

Yay, another chapter! Wow, things seemed to have calm down a lot now, and I am happy to see that the story is continuing. Though, they are looking to the stars ...thier troubles seems to be more Earth based at the moment. Here is  hoping that you update with another wonderful chapter soon.

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/03/2009 4:26 PM Title: Chapter 5.8

Thanks for more but KATHERINE!!!!!!!! :-)

Author's Response: Yeah, I know, a measly 1900-odd words is truly sucky progress.  I'm sorry.

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/12/2008 6:39 PM Title: Chapter 1: Running on Empty

Katherine, you're killing me! Is Jay going to make it or not? :-) Eagerly awaiting the next part.

Reviewer: gogirl212 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/12/2008 1:01 AM Title: Chapter 5.7

This story just keeps getting better and better.  Just when I think it can't get more intense, you rachet it up another notch. Thank you for sharing your marvelous work!

Reviewer: Shadowcat Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/11/2008 9:46 PM Title: Chapter 5.7

Wow, and yay. I am glad to see you are continuing this, and I love this new chapter. So, Jay is still out cold ...or is he out dead? Anyway, I can't wait to find out how this is going to end.

Reviewer: gogirl212 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/04/2008 1:05 AM Title: Chapter 1: Running on Empty

I just spent the better part of the week and weekend reading through your universe - thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing your creative and insightful storytelling.  I like the merge of worlds you have created - the characters all feel incredibly familiar and yet reborn in a new and intense way.  Really wonderful to read.

 I hope there is more to come.

Reviewer: Julieann Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/26/2008 1:10 PM Title: Chapter 5.6

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet!

 

I love the universe you set up with Defiance. The time and care you put into plotting shows in so many of the tiny details. For instance, how Galactor works, the team dynamics (which really are a melded Gatch/BotP), the 'warship'. Then there are the added characters, such as Rachel, the G5's family, Key's doomed girlfriend. Each adds a wonderful depth to this new 'universe'.

 

Your prose is rich in description and emotion, although occasionally the 'violent' descriptions you use at the calmer moments may be better kept for other occasions (but that's just me). Thanks for proofing this so well. The spelling and grammar errors are kept to a very low minimum which makes reading the prose very easy. A reader very quickly becomes enveloped in the story itself without paying attention to the mechanics of the writing itself.

 

I was wondering how you were going to handle the Galactor order of an assassination. I don't think I'm the only one waiting for you to post the next chapter after Rachael's action at the end of chapter 5.6! :)

You must login (register) to review.