Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Dual Citizenship
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mona Lisa Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/26/2015 5:51 PM Title: Chapter 1

Brava! And brave for sharing - thank you for standing up for yourself & the rest of us writers in all our genres. Third place is a lovely spot to be in... just ask Princess.

Reviewer: Daniella T Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/23/2012 3:23 PM Title: Chapter 1

Excellent and so true!!!

Author's Response: Thanks, Daniella!  :)

Reviewer: Garnet Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/03/2011 11:52 AM Title: Chapter 1

I really liked this little piece. I think you capture a lot of what all of us as fan writers feel at one time or another. I love that last paragraph. How many of us wish we could stand up and announce to the world that we write fanfic and we're proud of it. Thank you for sharing this with us.

Author's Response: Thanks, Garnet.  I'm glad that you enjoyed the piece.  :)

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/01/2011 1:50 PM Title: Chapter 1

Julie, I loved this the first time I read it and the second read is just as good.

 You expressed all of our feelings. Dual citizenship is the best way to describe our feelings. We live here and there. We have friends here and there.

 Wonderful!



Author's Response: Thanks, Becky.  And we're lucky enough to have some friends that live in both places with us.  :)

Reviewer: Cricket Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/01/2011 12:30 PM Title: Chapter 1

Not me, I still don't know what an uppercut is, unless I googled it at the time and forgot.

Author's Response: Well, apparently I don't either!  :P  Cricket, when you were in Scramble, you gave me some helpful and thought-provoking feedback on my stories.  That's probably why I thought it was you.  :)

Reviewer: Cricket Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/01/2011 10:20 AM Title: Chapter 1

Assuming we want the beta readers to stop it. I have one scene that I know ruins the pacing, but haven't the heart to change it. (Maybe I'll come up with a way that works. We'll see.)

Author's Response: Weren't you the one who pointed out that my "uppercut" in Uppercut is really a different kind of punch?  Part of me wants to go back & edit that scene and part of me thinks I should leave it as is - warts and all - so I can remember how much I've grown as a writer.  You are right, though, ultimately we are all responsible for our own work.  But that's part of the fun, isn't it?  :)

Reviewer: Cricket Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/01/2011 8:36 AM Title: Chapter 1

That sounds similar to my experiences. There's also the freedom of knowing that it cannot be submitted for publication. Having made that decision up front, we have more freedom.

Author's Response:

Cricket, you are so right!  I was just talking to my 5-year-old about that.  He figured I liked writing fanfiction because I made a lot of money at it!  I told him that when you write fanfiction, it's a labor of love.  You do it for the love of writing, the love of the characters, and the love of the fans.  And, yes, we have a lot of leeway in what we write.  At least until our beta readers put a stop to it.  ;)

Reviewer: Nephedra Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/01/2011 7:15 AM Title: Chapter 1

:) Grats Julie! I could be wrong but I think this describes so many of us in some way...admit to writing fan fiction?? I mean most people would think we are crazy. I am not a writer at all unless you count scientific papers which quite frankly are written in a style that only scientists understand. lol. But I have found writing fan fiction interesting and a good learning experience. I wish I could do it more...or get over the writer's block I have in some unfinished stories. Thanks for sharing this.

Author's Response: I agree, Nephedra, I think fan fiction gets a bad rap.  I've learned so much about writing from my beta readers and reviewers.  Thanks for the review!   

You must login (register) to review.