Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Disaster in the South Pacific
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: tamorris Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2014 7:21 AM Title: Chapter 1

I love your AU, and have read every story two or three times. I would like to point out one inconsistency for future reference if you don't mention in this story arc that Scott knows that Mark Jarrald is an ISO test pilot, who flies at air shows...but every other story states that Mark has been careful to conceal his capabilities as a pilot outside black section.

Keep up the great storytelling, please!

Author's Response:

Thank you!

You're right, it is a bit of a tangled web. The theory is that Mark hides from his non black section colleagues that he's an ISO test pilot, so that if any of them figure out that he must be hiding _something_ and start digging, they'll find that relatively easily. (Similarly, Jason doesn't tell people at ISO Racing that he's a security operative, he says he's just an ISO driver.)

But I confess that there are inconsistencies between stories. One of these days I'm going to sort them all out.

Reviewer: Chris White Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2012 11:51 PM Title: Epilogue

I never really watched Thunderbirds but still enjoyed this, and had little trouble following it. Kudos. :)

Reviewer: Candi Gomez Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/09/2010 5:56 PM Title: Chapter 1

I know NOTH-ING about Thunderbirds. But I truly enjoyed this fic!

Let's see...the other reviewers already commented on most of the juicy stuff. (And I most definitely agree!) ;)

You know, if the 2IC who used to be the 1IC tells you NOT to wake up someone on the team without him standing by, shouldn't you listen? As it is, Jason, Mark, and Alan sound like they are going to have their share of bruises for awhile. 

I do think that Anderson deserves a HUGE smack upside the head for his cavalier treatment of Scott.

Hopefully, Galaxy Security and all will be able to swallow their pride, remember that there is a war on, and be willing to set up tech sharing. The antigrav alone might well cut down on the time needed to get the injured from blasted area to treatment, nevermind what it could do for vehicles.

I just hate it when Zoltar's goons are looking the right way at the right time. This sounds like the type of plan Zoltar might well hold in abeyance until just the right time, with an outline of what to do handy for that time.

You are an excellent writer!

Now I have to look up how Tin Tin's related to the TB family...

Reviewer: Madilayn Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/26/2010 5:34 PM Title: Epilogue

It's taken me far too long to finish reading this - given my love of both TB & BotP.

I loved how you had the teams work together - and yet still retain their own integrity.  I loved how you melded the world backstories as well.

I really loved it.

Reviewer: Cricket Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2007 5:43 PM Title: Epilogue

Really enjoyed this, as did my husband (who in general just doesn't get the whole fanfic thing). These are the comments I was able to scribble while reading, so they're roughly in the same order as the story.

LOL Gordon's reaction to going on a flight with Scott.

Great voices. A bit more relaxed than TB canon, but I prefer your way.

Nice melding of the universes, including how your BOTP differs from canon. I didn't find the recaps boring, and hubby (who doesn't know your version) didn't find it hard to follow.

Picky detail: There are fairly accurate magnetic scans of most of the ocean, so the military knows what's normal and what's an enemy. Have been since WWII.

Good co-ordination and shop-talk between Gordon and Tiny; different teams, different training, but the same facts and capability to get things done when the SOP goes out the window. Shows just how good those guys are. Also good between Tiny and Jason. (But that's less remarkable; they do it all the time.)

I like how they end up rescuing each other. Just love watching skilled workers at work.

Bit of a concern with Tiny being too good to be true. He flies the brick, has the techies' respect, does normal medicine and emergency, aviation medicine, and knows tons about the implants, and now we see he also has the dive tables memorized? Reads on. Ah, I see. He's a smart guy who's used the tables a few times, is used to doing the best he can with limited resources, and is too out of it to remember there's help on the other end of the radio. So change that to *acting* like he's too good to be true, which in this situation would be right in character, and shows how badly he's thinking.

LOL Be grateful for Keyop's innocence in a space this small.

Poor Alan, having to give up his dreams about the Swan. Really brings home G-Force's ages.

Alan grinned broadly. "Perhaps it's time you stopped calling me 'kid'." LOL

Mark not recovering. Is this a hint of what's wrong with him?

Mutual respect between the teams and a bit of earned cockiness all around. Nice.

I like Jason's reaction to the stars of Australia.

Good work with the differences between being passenger and crew.

Nice give and take with the skills. When to stand your ground about it being better for you to do it, and when to stand back.

I like how Mark's disgusted with his flying, while Scott thinks it's awesome. (LOL on his combat advice!) Shows how different their skills and needs are.

Hauling up the Phoenix and watching the winch. Love how G-Force watches IR and is practically biting their nails, having to sit back and watch them work, and how they observe the little details that show that IR is taking it very seriously.

I enjoyed this one and look forward to the sequel.

Author's Response:

Thanks! Glad to hear that it works even for those not so familiar with my universe.

I guess those magnetic scans missed a bit...they are out in the middle of nowhere. That's my excuse, anyway :)

Tiny does do scuba diving canonically, so he should be familiar with how the tables work. But yes, the idea was that none of them are thinking at all clearly at that point. 

Not so much that Mark's disgusted with his flying and Scott thinks it's awesome, as that Mark's really having to concentrate to fly well and Scott's impressed by his skills given his age. They're both seriously good pilots. 

Now, that sequel... 

Reviewer: ghost owl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/02/2007 2:53 AM Title: Epilogue

Ah, exxxxxcellent!

What's not to like about this fic? I used to enjoy Thunderbirds as a kid but was never all that 'in' to the characters (I always thought TB2 was cool, though.)

I love the way you blended the two universes, especially the link between Scott, ISO and the G-Force project. There may have been nits to pick but I was so caught up in the story that if they were there, I didn't notice them.

Well done.

Reviewer: Clouddancer Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/31/2007 9:17 PM Title: Chapter 1

I have really enjoyed this story. 

I remember watching episodes of the Thunderbirds while visiting relatives in England, many years ago.  Your story makes me want to see if I can find any episodes to watch now.


I can also see you have left it wide open for more arcs to come.  Please continue this if and when you have time.  I willbe more than happy to read further. 

Thank you for introducing me to another, (what should I call it) universe? realm?  and reminding me of something else from my childhood.

Author's Response:

Hi Clouddancer, thanks so much for commenting and I'm glad you enjoyed it. I do have a followup in mind...

DVD sets of all the TB episodes are available in the UK, if you can play region 2 discs.

If you want a further TB fanfic 'fix', I recommend - you'll find a few other familiar names from this site there...


Reviewer: Madilayn Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2007 3:27 AM Title: Chapter 17

I am so loving this, Catherine!!   In fact, I'm positively greedy for more. 

It's funny - but TB, the boys seem so young to be doing - and have done - what they do.  Compared to the G-Force team, though, they're positively ancient!

And I love the idea of Scott giving Mark combat instruction <giggle>

Reviewer: Springie Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/13/2007 3:59 PM Title: Chapter 9

Catherine, I know nothing about the Thunderbirds, but I am really enjoying this fic! I loved the bumpersticker line..."My other vehicle is the G1"...ROFL!

 I am looking forward to reading more!

Reviewer: Madilayn Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 07/01/2007 1:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

Cath, this one has been worth waiting for the time to sit down and read through.  Sam is right - you excel at missionfics and this one is no exception.

You've merged the two worlds beautifully and managed to keep everyboyd nicely in character - I even love the elderbrother-missioncommander coming out in Scott and the equivalent youngerbrother dread in Gordon.

And yes - it's nice to see Gordon in a starring role!

I can't wait until the rest of it is done!

Reviewer: Samantha Winchester Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/29/2007 3:03 PM Title: Chapter 5

Great fourth and fifth chapters. All the technical research you did here is really paying off...I'm always drumming it into people that it's the details that make it sound authentic, that really put you there in that moment with them, and this story is a perfect example of that. Nothing like knowing exactly what can happen to a guy, to make you start getting afraid for him!

I love Jason deciding that saving his life merited him revealing his identity...that's so in character for him. And I'm getting a wee bit worried about Mark... (I know it's wrong, but I'm holding out for some real Mark whumping here.. Can't ever have enough whumping... :-))


Reviewer: ghost owl Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/27/2007 3:08 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oops, forgot to add the rating when I wrote my review.  Bad Ghostowl! No mouse!

Reviewer: ghost owl Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/27/2007 3:07 AM Title: Chapter 3

With only the most superficial knowledge of hyperbaric medicine and compression issues, I can't comment on the technical accuracy of this story so far but I am enjoying it immensely!  Knowing you, I'm quite sure you've researched it all thoroughly. I used to watch Thunderbirds as a kid but haven't seen it in years.  This brings back some memories.  As usual, well written, well paced and with drama building up to a nicely crafted peak.  I'm looking forward to further instalments.

Reviewer: Samantha Winchester Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/25/2007 12:33 AM Title: Chapter 3

Cath, I was so excited to see that you’d started posting this crossover! I’ve been eagerly anticipating it ever since you first mentioned you were working on it.

I’m loving it so far. You excel at mission fics, and this one starts off just right, with all that lovely technotalk on the Phoenix bridge. (I’ve always been a sucker for that!) And the idea of having IR be the only outfit that can rescue them in time…wonderful way to weave the two universes together. I’ve always thought that one of IR’s greatest assets was its ability to get there before anyone else, and it’s certainly true in this case.

Poor Gordon – what an ordeal! And poor Scott, having to deal with Anderson after what he did. I hope he gets a chance to even the score… And a lovely moment of physical vulnerability for Jason at the end of Chapter 3 there…nicely humanizing after he spent so much time being the toughest S.O.B. in the valley there… :-)

Damn, it’s hard to review without giving anything juicy away… Great job, and I’m looking forward eagerly to more!


You must login (register) to review.