Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3

Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/jgatchfa/public_html/forum/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
Gatchaman Fiction Archive :: Transmute!
Reviews For Diplomacy
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lyssa Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/12/2014 9:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

Loved the line - I run around in a costume most of the week! politicians, have to love them - missing the point entirety.

Reviewer: Chris Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/24/2012 5:12 AM Title: Chapter 1

Love, love, I can totally see Mark pulling his hair out over this kind of stuff, and the politicians and businesspeople reacting that way. :)

Reviewer: Candi Gomez Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/05/2010 4:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

*snicker* LOL!! I love Mark's side comments. And the 'rather large' Honest Opinions file? ROFL at the concept!

Please let snooty guy Pries try to get Colonel Cronus to do his diplomatic work. I want to see how many bones the colonel breaks before telling him no. >:-)

And if Colonel Cronus hears about Pries sending G-Force in to 'negotiate'...Cronus may be a jerk, but he also seems to have the mentality that no one else is allowed to be a jerk on his 'turf' -which included G-1. Ooo, the possibilities.

This is wonderfully written and hilariously funny. Good Work!



Author's Response: Thank you! Having lived the fun of needing to report events accurately and completely--without "editorializing"--it was rather therapeutic to put poor Mark into the same situation, and juxtapose his acid commentary alongside the account that he actually wrote. Besides, with G-force being held responsible for protecting The Entire Galaxy Against Spectra (thank you, Uncle Zark, for saying that so many times), it stands to reason that sooner or later they are going to get yanked around by individuals with political clout and a personal axe to grind, and have to salvage the situation somehow. I rather hope the Muse grants me a notional bunny that generates more of these letters; I thoroughly enjoyed salting the situation with as much silliness as possible. I wanted something that would make Mark think grimly, "Ten years from now we'll look back on this and laugh. Just not . . . right . . . now."

Reviewer: Nephedra Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/06/2009 1:26 PM Title: Chapter 1

I really liked this. Mark would hate to be writing such a letter. Although they are young I am certain they have many adminstrative duties that they dislike.

My favorite line:
I've lost track of the number of times we've had to blaze out of bases collapsing around us, or enemy ships being taken down in flames by their own crew. These people are nuts. I run around in a bird suit most days a week, and I say this.

So him!

Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you for the feedback! I had a lot of fun writing this: it was one of those stories that started with a "Hey, how about this?" thought and then took off running. I enjoy poking around behind the scenes like this, looking at what kinds of things the team might have to deal with in their off time and what their everyday lives might be like. And if there's an opportunity to write something that makes people chuckle, so much the better. :)

Reviewer: kittenmommy Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/15/2009 5:43 PM Title: Chapter 1


Beautiful!

Reviewer: cyscoe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2008 3:25 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is awesome.  I've done this kind of thing myself - typing something then running the bit I couldn't type through my mind.

I loved the salsa sequence!  The hot tub part had me laughing out loud.

The last bit was unexpected but very fitting.

Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: lborgia88 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2008 11:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh this is great -a witty and humorous look into Mark's life and mental processes, with nifty extras -the crows, the salsa, the music ...  I laughed out loud, more than once!

Author's Response: If you'd like to hear the music that inspired the music in this story, look up the soundtrack to "Batman Beyond". ;)

Reviewer: gogirl212 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2008 9:51 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very nicely done!  You have a good knack for speaking in each of the character's voices (as evidenced between this story and Tiny's ghost story).  yes, yes, yes I would *love* to see the Jason version of this!

Reviewer: Springie Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2008 9:10 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, you simply must make Jason do one of these in the future! This was awesome...I loved seeing what Mark the boy scout was really thinking behind his diplomatic facade!

Author's Response: If I can persuade Jason to cooperate, I will! Initially, I had asked him to write this letter, but he retorted that it was obviously Mark's job.

Reviewer: TransmuteJun Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2008 7:28 PM Title: Chapter 1

ROTFL! I love the byplay here with Mark's running commentary, and his distaste for both the original mission and the task of writing the letter. 

Now if only that 'hotshot Colonel' could be suject to such a thing... *grin*

BTW: the reference to the 'hot tub' was classic! *That* image will be burned into my mind for awhile... 

Reviewer: Becky Rock Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2008 7:07 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was a great read. Plotted well and too true to life. It's a good thing Mark didn't ask Jason to write it.

You must login (register) to review.